Katie’s First Prom + Peanut Butter Protein Balls Recipe

Warning:  Overload of cheesy prom pictures ahead.  Proceed with caution.

However, if you stay with me, I promise I’ll have a recipe to share.  It’s a give and take, you see? I force my millions of pictures of my child upon you and you receive a parting gift for you efforts. 😉

Anyhoo….on to the prom pics!

Katie is just a freshman, so we really didn’t anticipate prom this year, but our sweet neighbor invited her and she wanted to go, so we jumped into action and got her prom ready just in the nick of time!  She said it was a lot of fun and I have to say, it was lovely (if not somewhat sad and terrifying) to see her all dolled up for the evening.  When you are mainly used to seeing your child in a ball uniform or sweats and a tee shirt, it can be quite shocking to see them all adult-ish looking.

SONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSCSONY DSC

SONY DSC

Sister sister ❤

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

My beautiful niece and her date.

SONY DSC

My nephew and his gorgeous date.

18193390_10208971686398589_6864466147843124446_o

Ready for After Prom

That was fun, but a tad stressful, between trying to find the perfect dress, shoes, and accessories.  I’m glad it’s come and gone.  Now we just need to buckle down and focus on finishing up the school year.

This week, I’m going to be focusing on some snack prep.  I’ve been a little lax here lately with my snacking efforts, which actually means that I’ve just been eating junk food between meals.  This week I’m vowing to get my act together, so I’m going to be making some peanut butter protein balls and hard-boiling several eggs to have when I get hungry between meals.

17966309_10208861242117551_8980678890808828824_o

Peanut Butter Protein Balls

These have become my favorite high-protein snack. They take care of sweets cravings for me too!

1/2 c oats
1/2 c natural peanut butter (I look for something with close to 3g of sugar or less)
1/2 c protein powder (Currently using Optimum Nutrition brand, 100% whey protein, available on Amazon or at GNC)
2 T honey
2 T dark chocolate chips (optional)

Mix it all together adding a little bit of water if necessary to make it all stick together, should be a cookie dough-like consistency. Use an ice cream scooper or spoon to scoop into 12 balls. One serving is 2 protein balls. And FYI, I usually just go ahead and double the recipe because they don’t last long. Store them in the fridge.

These are a great alternative to junk food/sweets. They give you a good dose of protein while simultaneously curbing your sweet tooth.

Save

Save

4 thoughts on “Katie’s First Prom + Peanut Butter Protein Balls Recipe

  1. Jennifer Leal April 30, 2017 at 10:51 pm Reply

    Cheesy pics come with prom territory and they are lovely! What fun! Thanks for the recipe as well….will be making these soon.

    • klutzymama May 3, 2017 at 10:06 am Reply

      Thanks Jen 🙂

  2. Melissa Frizell May 3, 2017 at 8:51 am Reply

    I can not believe your girl is old enough to be in high school… let alone going to the prom!
    Hugs honey, enjoy the ride!
    BBB

    • klutzymama May 3, 2017 at 10:06 am Reply

      BBB,
      I know, right?! I cannot believe she’s old enough either…time sure flies! 🙂

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

