Skillet Lasagna or something like that…

20170124_170804[2517].jpg

I don’t know why I’m calling this skillet lasagna.  It’s not really lasagna-like at all.  If we want to get technical it’s more like….Italianish Stuff Thrown Into A Skillet.  Yeah, that’s real technical. Lasagna is layers of pasta, sauce, cheese, etc and there’s really no layering here.  This recipe title sucks now that I think about it.  I’ll have my people get on a new one ASAP.

This is one of B’s favorite meals that I make.  Though I think he says that about everything.  But whatevs, he likes it, ok?  And the girls like it too, so win/win.

I used to try to avoid pasta in the evenings.  I’m most active during the morning/afternoon, or at least that’s what I kept telling myself, but then one day I was like, you know what?  That’s a load of crap.  I’m active ALL DANG DAY.  And that’s the truth.  These days are madness and running 24/7.  So, I kind of don’t sweat the carbs at night much anymore.  But I do try to make the portions smallish (which is why I chose a big salad to go along with it).  Unless it’s Whitt’s pizza, ok?  I’m just gonna go ahead and get that out there because when Whitt’s is in the house, caution is thrown to the wind, all bets are off, and carbs are not the boss of me!  Don’t judge me.  You don’t know my life.

Anyhoo…first off, if you aren’t already making my homemade pasta sauce you should be!  So good.  So so good!  And it’s definitely the star of this dish.  I do add about 8 oz of tomato sauce to the original recipe for this one because the pasta seems to soak up a lot of it.

20160919_1102491477890

Here’s the recipe for that:

  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 t minced garlic
  • 28 oz crushed tomatoes
  • 2 T dried parsley
  • 1 t basil
  • 1/2 t oregano
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 t pepper
  • 1 t stevia or sugar (optional – this gives it just a bit of sweetness and helps cut out the acidity a little bit)
  • 1/8 t crushed red pepper (optional – gives the sauce a nice kick!)
  • Saute the garlic in olive oil for 2 minutes or until golden.
  • Add rest of ingredients, cover & simmer 15 minutes.
  • **If making sauce to use on pizza, add 1 small can of tomato paste**

Now, without further ado I give you….Some Kind of Italianish Stuff Thrown into a Skillet! *If anyone thinks of a good title, lemme know.*

1 lb ground turkey or lean ground beef
1 onion, diced
2 tsp minced garlic
8 oz tomato sauce
one batch of homemade sauce from above and add the 8 oz of tomato sauce to this
2 C. water
1 bay leaf
3 C. uncooked pasta of choice (I used bowtie this time because Hannah thinks they’re funny)
1 C. mozzarella
1/4 C. parmesan

Brown meat, garlic, and onion in large cast iron skillet (or other oven-safe skillet), I love my cast iron skillet because I can put it right into the oven to brown the cheese on top.  If you don’t have an oven-safe skillet you can just skip the last step and let the cheese melt on it’s own.

Add rest of ingredients, except cheese.  Bring to boil.  Reduce heat to simmer and cook until pasta is done and mixture is thick, about 15-20 min.  Remove bay leaf.

Top with cheese, place in oven and broil a few minutes until cheese is just starting to brown and bubble on top.  I served this with a big veggie-filled salad, and also some garlic bread for the rest of my crew who could care less about carbs/bread, which is how I like it.  😉

Save

Save

3 thoughts on “Skillet Lasagna or something like that…

  1. Melissa Frizell January 25, 2017 at 5:34 pm Reply

    Sweetie you crack me up! I get the pizza thing too. While I am able to maintain control, when Mel’s pizza is here, my Beloved can’t. He always says he will only eat so much but finishes his off every time!
    Wednesday is our pizza night. I just sauteed the shrooms for mine. Mine will be 1/2 gb, peppers, onions and shrooms and 1/2 Hawaiian.
    To be fair, pizza is NOT my fave meal.
    My fave meal is a well cooked stead, coconut shrimp, backed potato and steamed veggies. Though I usually settle for tacos…
    Hugs sweetie!
    BBB

    • klutzymama January 26, 2017 at 1:48 pm Reply

      Hugs right back to you, BBB!

  2. Deanna January 25, 2017 at 5:36 pm Reply

    I just had your honey glazed salmon. Don’t think I have ever bought bok Choy before!!!
    But it was ok! Loved the salmon that way!!!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

