Honey Glazed Salmon Recipe and if apps are your thing, you’re gonna need to read this!

20170117_1732112464

Okay, so I have a confession to make.  I didn’t actually eat this salmon.  Um…I actually don’t like seafood.  I’ve tried it a couple of different times in my life to no avail.  You see, I want to like it.  It’s so good for you!  But I….Just. Can’t.  Like, I actually gagged when I was trying to get the raw salmon out of the package and into the baking dish.  Sorry, but I did.  Me and seafood…we got issues.  But that’s a topic for another day.  Or possibly for a therapist.  Anyway, I opted for a protein shake in place of the salmon.  See?  I’m not a total loser…heh heh…still got my protein in!

The rest of my family loved this meal!  My husband is always crying about how he never gets to eat any seafood because I don’t like it.  Big man-baby pansy. So I’ve decided to try to start throwing some on the meal plan every so often.  And I’ll just have a shake on those nights.

The best thing about this?  It was ready in about 30 minutes!

Here’s how to make the meal above:

1 bunch bok choy, washed, stalks cut off, roughly chop the leaves
2 C chicken or vegetable broth (or water)
2 tsp minced garlic, divided
2 tsp minced ginger, divided
2 Cups instant brown rice (you don’t have to use instant, I just did because I needed this meal to be quick)
1 lemon
1 1/2 lb salmon fillet
crushed red pepper (as desired)
2 T. honey
8 T. soy sauce
olive oil

Preheat to 425.
In medium bowl whisk together 1/2 the garlic and ginger, then add the juice of one lemon, soy sauce (I found this to be a little much and will probably reduce it to 6 T. next time), and honey.

Place salmon in baking dish and pour half of the sauce mixture on top.  Bake 15-20 minutes, until salmon is opaque.  Pour on rest of sauce halfway through baking time.

While salmon is cooking, bring broth to boil in small saucepan.  Add rice & stir.  Reduce heat to simmer, cover, and cook 5 minutes.  Remove from heat and let stand 5 min.

Heat skillet over medium heat with a little olive oil.  Add remaining garlic, ginger, and crushed red pepper to taste.  Add bok choy and a little bit of soy sauce.  Saute about 2-3 minutes.

This recipe came from the app called Mealime.  Which leads me to my next point!  I have a few great app suggestions I’d like to share with you.  I love these because they all help me keep myself on track throughout the day.

First up is Mealime.

It’s a great meal planning app that you can customize to suit your tastes or goals.  I know the paid version offers a little more customization, but for now, the free version works perfectly for me.

Why do I love it?  I’m glad you asked!  Do you ever get just totally burned out on meal planning?  Nothing sounds good, you don’t want to take the time to do it, you can’t think of anything….
This app takes all of that away.  You set your preferences.  You can even tell it foods that you don’t like and it won’t give you recipes with them in it.  It comes with a complete grocery list for all of the meals.  If you don’t like a meal that it has planned for you, you just swipe it away and it’s replaced by another.  I LOVE it!
The only negative that I have found with this so far is that it’s a ‘Dinner only’ planner.  So there’s no breakfast or lunches or snacks planned.  But for me, dinner is the hardest part of the meal plan to come up with.  I’m sure there are other apps out there that will plan all of your meals for you if you want, I just didn’t need that so I stopped looking when I found this one.

The next app that I am loving right now is called Our Home.  I use it to assign the girls’ chores and keep track of my own somewhat, too.

capture

The girls each have the app on their phones, as well.  When they come home from school, they can open it up and see what they need to get done for the day.  You can schedule the tasks to repeat weekly, daily, monthly, etc.  It’s pretty awesome.  And they can check them off as they are completed.

I have recently started using some of the features on the Fly Lady app to keep track of different cleaning projects I like to get done each month.

FlyLady.net iPhone/iPad App

This app can be used as little or as much as you like. From daily tasks to complete all the way to monthly chores.   I like that she sets up different zones to focus on each month, so that in addition to my normal housework, I can be reminded to do other projects that might get overlooked like cleaning out the linen closet or the pantry.  I don’t really think about those things often, so I can get reminders about those type of things.

And finally I want to share with you a great workout app that I think would be perfect if you are wanting to start exercising but don’t have a clue what to do.

8fit is also a free app, with the option to upgrade to the paid version for more perks.  I use the daily beginner workouts as my warm up for my lifting sessions and it’s perfect!  I don’t get bored with doing the same old warm up because it’s something different every day.  You can set your level (beginner, intermediate, advanced) and the type of exercise you’d like to do, and also set your goals.  Each exercise has a video demo of how to correctly perform the movement.

So that’s it!  I hope you’ll give some of these a try.  I’m all for anything that makes life a little easier and these really do the trick for me!

Save

Save

3 thoughts on “Honey Glazed Salmon Recipe and if apps are your thing, you’re gonna need to read this!

  1. megan January 18, 2017 at 11:34 am Reply

    you crack me up!! i love this recipe, gunna have to try it. we love salmon, keep coming with these emails i am a fan!!!! you go girl… Meg

    • klutzymama January 18, 2017 at 12:31 pm Reply

      Haha! Glad you like it, thanks Megs!

  2. Deanna January 18, 2017 at 5:55 pm Reply

    This sounds wonderful!!!! May have to try it. I’m loving all your blogs!!!!!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

