Why I’m OK with looking stupid

I did something today for the very first time ever.  And quickly discovered why I’ve never done it before.

I posted a video of myself jumping rope on Instagram.  Yesterday I added a Tabata jump rope routine on to the end of my lower body workout.  I decided to take a video of it.  I honestly don’t know why.  Curiosity, I guess?  To see if I looked as dumb as I felt I looked.  Yep.  I did.

Anyway, suffice it to say that it was kind of comical to me.  I was jiggly.  My boobs are starting to sag, and I mean let’s face it, was I really that surprised by that?  No.   I’m 41, the girls are going to succumb to gravity eventually.  I looked haggard, as it was early morning and I hadn’t showered or combed my hair or basically done anything to myself since getting out of bed.

I try to use my Instagram account to draw traffic to my blog.  Mostly.  I also post a lot of family pics there too.  But most of my posts are in some way related to my fitness journey.  There are many fitness accounts out there.  Most of the accounts I follow show perfect, hard-bodied fitness kings and queens.  The lighting is always perfect.  The muscles are plentiful and sculpted.  Their videos leave us viewers in awe of their perfect form and flawless aesthetics.  They offer lots of advice on how to achieve results like theirs.

And then there’s me.  Jumping rope like a walrus with all my stuff jangling about all over the place.  You’re welcome, Instagram followers.  You’re so very welcome.  As dumb as I may look sometimes, there are some pretty valid reasons for posting things like that.

First, it’s kind of a way for me to keep accountable.  I feel like if I put stuff like that out there, I am portraying myself as living a certain lifestyle.  A lifestyle that says my health and fitness are important to me.  And if I’m going to talk the talk, I need to make sure I’m walking the walk.

But another good reason is that not everyone out there working on their fitness is a bikini model.  Not everyone is a clone of Arnold Schwarzenegger in his prime.  Some of us are just regular moms and dads who are looking to improve our overall strength and stamina, but who also have jobs and families to take care of.  We don’t have professional photo shoots.  We don’t have fitness clothing line sponsors.  We have butts to wipe and dried snot on our shoulder and dinner to make and homework to help with.  Don’t get me wrong, there are plenty of regular people out there like me who are documenting their fitness journey, too.  And I appreciate them.  I appreciate the perfect people too.  They all give me inspiration, which is what I also hope to give to others.  I want people to feel that they are not alone when they struggle, because I struggle, too.  I want them to be able to laugh at themselves and keep plugging away instead of feeling that they aren’t ever going to be successful.

So, if there could be a spokesperson for the regular folk out there who are just trying to be a better version of themselves, then let it be me and my jiggly jump rope video.  My skin is thick  enough to take the criticism.  I volunteer as tribute!

hunger-games-movie-katniss-sign-1024x434

Save

4 thoughts on “Why I’m OK with looking stupid

  1. ateammamaof4 January 10, 2017 at 11:56 pm Reply

    You still look gorgeous!

    • klutzymama January 11, 2017 at 7:56 am Reply

      Thank you so much!

  2. Mrs B January 11, 2017 at 11:09 am Reply

    Oh I love this post! Aging can be tough but with an attitude like yours it doesn’t have to be!! Thanks for the reminders and the encouragement!

    • klutzymama January 18, 2017 at 12:47 pm Reply

      You’re welcome! Aging is tough, you’re right! We gotta do what we gotta do to keep ourselves healthy along the way 🙂

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

