Fitness Check-In

Right before we moved, I had started the New Rules of Lifting for Women program.  I had a very hard time at first with letting go of my old split, which was to work certain muscle groups on specific days.  However, I had read so many good things about this program and wanted to give it a try.  Plus, as an added bonus, the workouts in this program tend to be a lot easier on my elbow, which if you’ve ever had tendon issues, you know how painful that is.

Once we got ready to move, I got off track with that a little bit, mainly because my weights were buried under boxes in the garage, and resorted to just throwing some spotty workouts together for a while.  Now that we’re settled in (for the most part), I’ve been hitting those workouts hard.  And I love them.  Although I must confess that I tend to throw a few finishing moves onto the end of each workout….I just can’t seem to not do that lol…but I’m really happy so far.  I’ve noticed increased strength already and can’t wait to see where I’m at when I finish the whole program.

So, to document where I’m currently at & where I want to go, here’s an update:

4-21-16

Current body weight:  129.8
Short term goals:  adhere to this program & stay focused through the upcoming busy travel ball season.Long term goals:  Increase overall strength, lean body mass, and endurance
Problem areas:  LOWER BODY!  Ugh!  I know that when we lose weight it tends to go from top to bottom.  First you notice it in your face, then shoulders/arms, abdomen & then finally the lower body.  Unfortunate for people like me who really want to see results there first.  Oh well, that’s the breaks!  Gotta keep working hard & I know the results will come.

This place where I’m at right now is hard for me to be in.  I struggle with thinking that I am fine where I’m at, so why not just maintain it vs. I really want to reach the next level, but I’m scared of the hard work that will take!  When you don’t really have X number of pounds to lose, it becomes more about changing your physique, which can be difficult to do unless you are willing to commit 100% to doing what it takes to make that happen.  I get too comfortable with myself & motivation is lacking at times to tweak things that need tweaking.

Oh and I’ve been slacking on water intake too. Man, what a difference that makes.  I forget sometimes how important it is to be hydrated.  It affects everything from your hunger levels to your skin, and energy levels too.  When I’ve gone too long without water and finally have some, it’s like coming back from the dead.  So that’s another area of focus for the upcoming weeks.

What do your current goals look like?

 

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

