What a Crazy Summer…and now…a Deep Sigh of Relief

Wow…this summer was a complete blur.  Truly.

Katie joined a new travel team and we were on the road more than we were home it seemed.  While I’m very grateful for the new friendships we formed and the great improvement in her game, we have decided that this isn’t the route for us.  The fees increase greatly next year along with the amount of travel and frankly, spending time as a family (all of us together) trumps the benefits of her being on a team like this.  Does she want to play in college?  Yes.  Does it HAVE to be a D1 school?  Heck to the no!  I’m fine with her going to whatever college is going to best help her realize her dreams and if she can play softball at said school, then fabulous!  But being able to watch my daughter on TV is not at the forefront of my wishes as her mother.  So, on that note, we said some tearful goodbyes to new friends and coaches and will go with a more local team but one that will still get her out there in that college exposure.

20150726_174219

And as for Hannah – this was her last year of 10U.  She moves up with the big dogs next year and it’s a totally different ball game.  I’m so excited to see what the future holds for her, as well.  And extremely grateful for the Red Alert 04 softball family that we’ve come to know and love along the way.

IMG_20150726_075513

And now that summer is winding down and we are preparing to gear up for a new school year, I feel like we can finally take a breath and settle down into a somewhat normal routine around here.

I keep vowing that I’m going to do better about keeping this blog updated with pictures and stories of all the wonderful memories we are making and I keep failing to do that.  I have decided that at least for the near future, I won’t be running any more challenge groups so that I can focus all of my attention on my family, so hopefully that will translate into more blogging.  I think I started this blog back in 2009 maybe?  And the girls and I get a huge kick out of going back and looking at old posts and pictures, so I know I need to focus more attention here so that they’ll have this as a wonderful way to look back on their childhood.

One thought on “What a Crazy Summer…and now…a Deep Sigh of Relief

  1. jensamom23 August 9, 2015 at 9:13 am Reply

    Bravo to you and your family for realizing that spending time together as a family is vitally important. When our son played travel ball, we were always together watching the games, but it became invasive on our quality of time together. When that slowed down, we had more fun together. Less pressure and more money to do things like …ummm…clothe and feed us. It can be so expensive to play ball! I think we started blogging about the same time and as I look back, your comments were right there. Fun stuff. Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

