Saying Goodbye to George

I’ve been putting this post off for a little while, though I know that I really do want to write it.

If you’ve been following my blog over the years, then you’re familiar with my friend & neighbor, George, and how my little Hannah brought us together.

1025916_10200206617157336_1025067371_o

We have had some fun times over the years.  Every Friday for several years I could always count on him to make me laugh.

And though I heard the same stories over and over again many times, I never got tired of hearing about his world travels.  He really was a fascinating guy.

He fell this past winter and laid on the floor in his home for several hours before he could reach the phone.  He was taken to the hospital and was no longer allowed to live on his own.  He had no family here in Indiana, so his niece flew in from Colorado and took him back to her house.  He passed away not long after that.  He was old and his body was weak, so while I wasn’t really surprised at the news, I was still heartbroken.  And I’m so thankful that I was able to say goodbye to him before he left.  I even got a hug & kiss on the cheek from him, which I will always be grateful for.

He was quirky and sometimes cranky.  But he was also witty and charming.  I am so thankful that God put us together, even if it was for a few short years.  He was my friend and I loved him.

10929028_10203473306942539_7157529163220862026_n

4 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye to George

  1. mel March 29, 2015 at 10:05 am Reply

    What a lovely tribute. I always feared this news.
    I am glad though that you were there to brighten his last years. I am certain he loved you and your family.
    hugs my friend.

  2. jensamom23Jen March 29, 2015 at 10:11 am Reply

    What a beautiful tribute. Through the years, I enjoyed being able to hear about George. You and your family became his family. What a gift you all gave each other. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Me March 30, 2015 at 10:44 am Reply

    I loved your stories about George!! I am sure you made a huge difference in his life!!! What a sweet tribute! So sorry for your loss.

  4. Becky April 5, 2015 at 9:02 pm Reply

    So sorry! I really enjoyed your George stories!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

