Menu Plan Organization….HELP. ME.

I seriously hate having to sit down and plan my meals for my grocery shopping trip. I don’t hate being prepared ahead of time, I actually love that part because I don’t have to scramble each day to try to figure out what I’m going to make for supper.  What I hate is the process of deciding what to each for each meal (and snacks!) for every single day of the week. U-G-H!!!!

*Funny Story – last night I was going to make homemade chocolate chip cookies. But alas, we had no butter. I called The Spinster and she had some but not enough. Hannah then proceeded to walk sadly from room to room in the house saying “Buttah”. (picture a huge bullfrog ribbiting out the word buttah). She’s something else, that one.

bullfrog

So here’s my dilemma, I have recipes in books, in a recipe box, in a binder, on my laptop and on hundreds of blogs that I want to test out. It’s very overwhelming. I tried several different ways to organize all of them (created my own spreadsheet, online recipe organizers, etc) but nothing has really been what I want.

In the perfect world that exists in my mind, I would have my recipes organized seasonally. That way I’d be utilizing produce at it’s peak time. I just can’t figure out how to make that happen in a way that doesn’t push the limits of my sanity.

I’m thinking about using my blog…kinda…maybe…to start doing that whole menu plan day thing that is so popular. That way I can come here and go straight to that category and maybe have some kind of semblance of organization?? I don’t know. I may try it.  I may not.  As you can see, I am fantastic at making decisions.

I’m going back towards more from-scratch cooking now that softball season is in the slow part of the year, with the hopes that when it comes back around with a vengeance, I am so disciplined in my food/snack making that I will breeze right through it brandishing healthy, wholesome snacks around every turn. Yeah…I’m laughing too.  But my girls love all of the homemade snacks I make.  Especially the cheese crackers.  And honestly, they are so stinking easy.  I don’t know why but every time I think about making them, I get all like “but I have to use the rolling pin”, as if that is sooo hard.  It takes probably 15 minutes to mix up the few ingredients and roll them out, then pop them in the oven.  Sometimes I amaze myself with how much of a wimp I am.

Well, I have no idea if anyone is still reading this blog since I kinda fell off the face of the Earth for oh, I don’t know, a couple of years…but if I do and if you happen to have any suggestions or would like to share how you organize and create your menu plan each week, I will be eternally grateful and probably so happy that the rolling pin is gonna feel like chump change.

6 thoughts on “Menu Plan Organization….HELP. ME.

  1. Me August 20, 2014 at 11:24 am Reply

    Ahhhh yes you totally need to start blogging again!! I am the same way with menu/grocery planning!! Here is what I did…this past winter I came up with a 2 month menu plan…it had lots of soups, comfort foods, chili, etc. Then this past spring I did the same thing, but I planned more salads, grilling out, etc. You could take it even further and do a couple months for each season. It really didn’t take me long…even if it takes a few hours, it will be so worth it when you’re done! (And of course you could share those meal plans 🙂 ) Once I had my meal plans, it just took minutes to come up with a grocery list, but I have seen some people that even have those pre-planned for each week.

  2. klutzymama August 20, 2014 at 11:29 am Reply

    Perfect!!! Thank you for that input! Since I posted this earlier I have been scouring the internet for something that will work and I decided on exactly what you just said! Ha! Great minds think alike, sister! 😉
    And I even found an adorable FREE printable menu plan that I can use. So excited. I’m going to post a link to it soon.

  3. jensamom23 August 21, 2014 at 8:39 am Reply

    Okay…we are apparently on the same wave length. I texted a friend last night who used to be a personal chef and asked for help. I go gang busters for the beginning of each season, but then I either get frustrated, bored or some such nonsense. Anxious to see your menu plan and I am planning a post soon with what I learn. Love seeing you blog again, by the way. 🙂

  4. klutzymama August 21, 2014 at 8:58 am Reply

    Jen, I’m glad I am not alone. I’m just like you, I am right on it in the beginning and then I fizzle and I really think it’s because I don’t have a very organized system. And like Christy said above, I think it is worth a few hours of my time to get organized. I’ll keep ya posted! 🙂

  5. Becky March 21, 2015 at 10:27 pm Reply

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with! I have been working 3 jobs (1 full-time outside the home (read: long hours) and 2 part-time from home. And trying to hit the gym 3 days a week. The weekends are crazy. I don’t have time to cook and we end up grabbing food on the go or it’s heat and eat type food. It’s not healthy and part of the reason I feel the need to go to the gym. I so need to get organized!

    • klutzymama March 22, 2015 at 7:10 am Reply

      Wow Becky, it sounds like you are busier than ever!!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

