WE ARE COMPLETELY INSANE…IT’S THE ONLY LOGICAL EXPLANATION

When we moved into this old house 7 year ago (7 years ago!!!), it was with the intention of living here a few years while the girls were little and wouldn’t mind sharing a room and fixing it up a little, possibly make a little money off of it and then buy something newer, bigger, better.  So, fast forward a few years and Brian gets laid off from his job and our world gets turned upside down for a period of time.  Then enter travel softball, which now consumes a huge portion of our lives and here we are.  7 years later.  There have a been improvements to the house here and there along the way, though it’s FAR from where I’d like it to be.  And those girls who were 5 and 2 when we moved in?  Well they are now 12 and 9.   That sharing a bedroom business is about to push this woman over the edge.

Over the years, we have gone back and forth a thousand times on whether to stay or go.  And just recently we had said, Okay!  We are going!

Until…

One day, Katie and I took a walk.  We were talking about all the things we still needed to do before we could sell the house.  And how in the world we were going to make that happen with softball season approaching.  And then out of the blue, my daughter, the one who has said since she was 7 years old that she just couldn’t wait to get out of this old house and have her own room, stopped me in my tracks with this:

I don’t think we should go.

!

?

!?!?!?

She proceeded to tell me that she would be so sad if we left.  That she has so many good memories here.  Not to mention a neighbor boy who, though they fight most of the time, has become like a brother to her.  And our awesome sledding hill?  How could she survive a winter without that?  And walking to the library and park and cafe on the corner?  How could we possibly go away from that?

So, I did the best I could to not just bawl and hug her to death because honestly, as mad as I get at this old house and all of it’s inconveniences, she is right.  Those things are so wonderful.  They really are.

And here’s the next crazy thing, when I told Brian about it, even HE said he would like to stay.  And he has been the BIGGEST hater of this house from the day I decided we should buy it.

Now Hannah?  That girl lives in the moment.  She wouldn’t care if we lived in a barn.  She goes with the flow and she’s got way more important things to do than sit around caring about where we live.

Of course, that doesn’t help the bedroom situation at all.  And that’s going to be a big, costly project that I have no idea how we will pay for, but we’ll work it out.

In the meantime, I am breathing easier knowing that at least we have finally made a decision.  And honestly, I’ll be 39 in a few months.  My drive and energy for doing things like buying and selling houses….well that train done left the station.  I’m ready to be settled in and enjoy my old age. 🙂

 

 

4 thoughts on “WE ARE COMPLETELY INSANE…IT’S THE ONLY LOGICAL EXPLANATION

  1. jensamom23 March 11, 2014 at 12:13 pm Reply

    What a sweet, heartfelt thing for your daughter to share with you! I imagine now that the decision to stay has been made, the details to make it work and more comfortable will appear. By the way…I have had a 16 year old and 9 year old sharing a room..Ideal, heck no and I have to close my eyes when I enter, but it works for the most part.

  2. klutzymama March 11, 2014 at 1:19 pm Reply

    Well I’m definitely going to share that with the girls because there’s no guarantee that we are going to be able to afford the addition of a 3rd bedroom. We’d all love it, but I just don’t know if that’s a reality or not. We shall see… 🙂

  3. mel March 11, 2014 at 2:10 pm Reply

    KM,
    First off glad to see you back!
    Second I LOVE older houses. MJ are looking for a home in town now and most in our budget (we plan to pay cash) are older with some… character.
    the last one would have been perfect but it needed a new roof, new foundation, new electric and probably new plumbing and gas too…

    EEK!

    One or 2 of those we could manage, but not all of it!

    Hugs
    BBB

    • klutzymama March 11, 2014 at 3:00 pm Reply

      Hey Mel!!! 🙂
      Good luck with your house hunt, keep us posted!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

