Lunch Fit For a King and a Cool Night Sky

Lunch happens to be my favorite meal of the day.  Mainly because when I eat lunch, I can have whatever I want.  Supper time is good too, but I have to consider two very picky little girls when I make supper.  That makes it difficult to please everybody.

Anyhoo, I LOVE lunch!  Today I made one of my favorites.  Packed with veggies (I LOVE veggies!), chicken, pasta & pesto.  I LOVE pesto!  And a sprinkling of freshly grated parmesan cheese.  Mmmmm…CHEESE!  Is anyone else annoyed with my overuse of CAPS and exclamation points?

I posted this recipe, or something similar to it once before, but this one is better cuz it’s got lots more veggies packed in.  This is pretty simple to make too, especially if you’ve got chopped veggies already on hand.

First, just chop up all the veggies you want.  Today I used mushrooms, bell pepper, green onions, sun-dried tomatoes, zucchini, & spinach.

 

After your veggies are chopped, start boiling water for your pasta.  Today I used whole grain rotini.  I also really like penne.  But any kind will do.  Then pour a little bit of olive oil in a skillet & begin cooking the chicken.  When the chicken is heated through, add the veggies, except for the spinach.  Adding the spinach now will make it very soggy.  If you add it at the very end, it will get slightly wilted, which is what you want.  Unless you are a fan of soggy spinach.  If you are, then by all means, add it now.

Stir that around a little and put a lid on the skillet.  Let it cook for a couple of minutes and then remove from heat, but keep the lid on to hold in the heat.

Once the pasta has finished cooking, drain it & return it to the pan.  Pour in the chicken & veggies, about 1/2 to 1 T. of pesto, depending on how much chicken & pasta you’re making.  *I have 2 really great recipes for pesto.  However, my herbs didn’t do well last year because I stupidly moved them to a different location, so I am using jarred pasta from the store today instead of my own. Stir well.

Lastly you will want to add your freshly grated parmesan cheese and the spinach.  If you must use the bottled parmesan cheese, go ahead, but I’ll be mad.  Just kidding, I use it sometimes too.

Do you like my cute little mouse cheese grater? 🙂

 

I added some red pepper flakes to mine as well.  If you’re spicy, like me, you might want to do this too.

And there you have it!  A fabulous and healthy lunch. 😀

 

This is a great recipe because you can basically throw whatever you want into it.  As for veggies, fresh is best.  I don’t really like frozen or canned veggies.  I can tolerate frozen in a stir-fry sometimes.  But I do realize that lack of time can be a challenge for all of the chopping that is required with fresh veggies.  Frozen is the next best choice or you can chop up all of your veggies at the beginning of the week and have them ready to throw into recipes and salads all week.  I put half of the veggies from lunch today in the fridge and they will go in my salad tonight.

If you don’t happen to have pesto, you can substitute with some olive oil & herbs.  I like oregano & basil.  Fresh are best, but dried herbs will do.  You’ll just a little of the flavor that comes from fresh herbs.

 

 

And finally, I want to post these pics I took the other night.

I was taking the dogs and looked up to see a pretty neat looking sky.

 

I hollered at the girls to come see.  The moon was really bright, so you could see all the clouds.  The wind was really gettin’ it, so the clouds were just kinda flying past the moon.

Cool, huh?

5 thoughts on “Lunch Fit For a King and a Cool Night Sky

  1. mel March 13, 2012 at 3:58 pm Reply

    KM,
    That looks yummy! I LOVE those shrooms!
    hugs
    BBB

  2. Becky March 13, 2012 at 8:41 pm Reply

    Very cool!
    And I like that cheese grater, too.
    I want to come eat lunch with you. I live with picky eaters, too. The meat and potatoes kind. **sigh**
    I love fresh veggies any time.

  3. Jen March 14, 2012 at 8:29 am Reply

    That looks yummy and can go in gobs of directions. That cheese grater is super cute and that moon and clouds…gorgeous!

  4. Ma April 6, 2012 at 8:06 am Reply

    Love the sky pictures:)

    • klutzymama April 6, 2012 at 8:36 am Reply

      Thanks, Ma. 🙂

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

