Can’t Even Come Up With a Title That is Worthy!

Before I even begin to attempt this, let me just say that I know going in to it that I am not going to find the right words that will give God the glory and praise that He deserves.  I’m gonna try, but I’m going to fall miserably short here.

We are going on 3 years that Brian has been working 2nd shift.  People close to us know that it has been extremely hard for all of us to adjust.  The girls especially.  Brian leaves for work at 1:30 in the afternoon and doesn’t get home until after midnight.  He is working 6 & 7 days a week.  What this means is that during the school year, the girls see him almost not at all.  Weeks that he works 7 days a week, they do not see him except for a couple of hours on Saturday & Sunday before he goes to work.

Before you start feeling sorry for us, please know that we are and have felt so blessed for this job that he has.  There are people still without jobs.  There are families suffering and trying to survive.  A girl in my bible study class has been without work for 2 years.

I’ve said until I’m blue in the face that Brian’s layoff was a major, life-changing, eye-opening experience for us.  So many things taken for granted.  FOR YEARS.  It still brings me shame to this day when I think about how much we have taken for granted.  How we take in God’s merciful blessings, blessings that we in no way deserve, without batting an eye.  Without uttering a word of thanks to Him.  And then we start thinking that we actually DESERVE them.  That we aren’t blessed enough.  That we are being cheated out of things that are owed to us.  It makes me cry right now as I’m typing this.

Throughout the past few years, we’ve had many a tear-filled night.  Especially Sundays when the girls have been able to spend the day with their dad and they know that when they go to bed that night, they won’t see him again until another week has passed.  And we’ve always said, through the tears, how thankful we are for this job.  How this is what God wants for our lives.  We’ve prayed for peace.  We’ve prayed for His will to be done and that we would be grateful for it no matter what it meant.

When Brian first took this job, I admit, I prayed that this wouldn’t be for long.  That something else would come quickly along…in the same breath that I was thanking Jesus for this very job.  And I can’t tell you the exact day, but somewhere around a year after he started working nights, it hit me.  The selfishness of that prayer.  The complete ridiculousness of it.  I’ve been so blessed to be able to stay home and raise our daughters, take care of our home, our bills are paid, we have food to eat and plenty of it.  All of this I am still doing to this day after my husband lost his job.  And I’m going to ask God for more?  Because 2nd shift just wasn’t good enough for us?  And just like that, I couldn’t pray that prayer anymore.  I prayed for God to help us not to forget those months that Brian went with no job and to always make us thankful for all that we have.

In bible study this past Monday morning, we were talking about trials in our lives.  Areas where we feel like we are lacking and what, if any, good we felt has come from our lack.  One girl talked about how she has been without work for the past 2 years and that she has come to lean more on God and trust in Him to take care of her.

I mentioned the closeness that we have come to feel as a family now that our time with all of us of being able to be together at the same time has become very limited.  The times that we are together are something that we all treasure.  At that time during the bible study, the lady who is leading it, asked if we could all just stop & pray right then over our issue as well as the girl that has been jobless.  We also prayed for some others in the group that had mentioned their current struggles.

Two days after I talked about this during bible study, Brian got a call from an old employer.  They wanted to see if he would be interested in coming back to work for them.  That they had basically created a position and had him in mind when they did. They had hired a consulting company to come in and help them get their business turned around and after observing their processes and interviewing employees all the way up the chain of command, they said, “Hey, you need to get this guy back in here.”

Do you have goose bumps yet?  Because I sure do.  I may never get rid of them.

Brian went in & talked to them.  They made him an offer.  1st shift.  A little less money, but much better insurance that actually equals out the pay and room for advancement where he really doesn’t have that now.  Plus, this is his area of expertise, something that he is good at and has done successfully before.  We discussed it for a night.  Prayed.  Consulted family members.  Discussed.  Prayed.  Prayed, prayed, prayed!

He accepted the offer and will begin his new job in 1 week. PRAISE GOD!  The girls were absolutely thrilled when I told them.  We have a white board on our fridge that the girls & Brian use to write notes back and forth to each other when they can’t see each other.  The night that I told the girls about this, Katie wrote on the board, “We are so happy for Daddy.”  That made both Brian & I tear up when we saw it the next morning.

Praise the Lord.  There’s really not much else I can say…just Praise God!

10 thoughts on “Can’t Even Come Up With a Title That is Worthy!

  1. Christy March 9, 2012 at 9:01 pm Reply

    I have goosebumps!!! God is so amazing!!!! Okay…you are going to think this is CRAZY….but you know how my hubby was laid off around the same time as Brian?! And then a couple months after (I think) Brian got a job, my husband got a job. We have been in the exact boat that you have but basically he hasn’t been on an exact shift, they call him early every morning and tell him what time to be there…he usually leaves every day about 9 or 10 and gets home late (around 10) every night. He has had weekends off, except around Christmas…..but we have felt exactly like you all and we cherish our weekends because the kids don’t see him through the week. I quit praying for anything to ‘change’ because, like you all, we are SOOO thankful for this job and we won’t ever forget those lessons learned while laid off….well….this past week he was offered a shift where he will work 4 10 hour days….with a day off during the week and weekends off. We, especially, the kids are soooo excited!!!! He starts the new shift Monday. We are so so thankful so I know exactly how you all are feeling!!! Congrats!!!!! I will be rejoicing with you!!! And sorry for my own blog post here 🙂

    • klutzymama March 9, 2012 at 9:23 pm Reply

      Shut. Up. Christy, Brian is also working four 10 hour days! Well, they have so much work right now that they are working 5 days, but during normal times, it’s 10 hour days, 4 days a week. How crazy is that? That is so wonderful for you! Congrats and yes, God is so good! Oh, and I didn’t really mean shut up. I just meant, shut up, like it was crazy how similar our situations are. LOL 😉

  2. Chris Tallent March 9, 2012 at 10:06 pm Reply

    That is great! I know you are beyond thrilled…back to “normal” life! Wooohooo!

    • klutzymama March 10, 2012 at 7:25 am Reply

      Thanks Chris!

  3. Becky March 9, 2012 at 10:57 pm Reply

    I didn’t realize it had been that long.
    I am so happy for you guys!!! Now maybe life can get back to normal. Right?! God IS good!!
    My hubby has been working a job for almost 10 years that has no set schedule. He works m-f and every other Saturday, too. He may go to work at 7am one day and 2 am the next. He calls in every evening after 6 to find out what time he has to go to work. There is no normal around here. He stays so tired, sometimes I just don’t know how he does it. But he has applied for a job that has straight 7-3 hours, m-f and on call once every 6 weeks or so. We are SO hoping he gets this job.
    And well, you know my situation. **sigh** But we are praying and keeping the faith!

    • klutzymama March 10, 2012 at 7:29 am Reply

      Thank ya Becky!
      Yes, I do know your situation and will keep you in my prayers. The Captain’s hours sound extremely hard to have to deal with. Funny how we can adjust & adapt to situations that, before they actually happen, we think we can’t live with. But God sustains us. Will be praying that he gets that job!

  4. Gretchen March 10, 2012 at 8:28 am Reply

    That is truly amazing. I always think of that verse in 1 Timothy where is says, “God is faithful even when we are faithless. He cannot deny himself.” Just meaning He is always faithful to us and knows our situation and knows our hearts. So happy for you all! God is good!

  5. Jen March 10, 2012 at 9:17 am Reply

    I am so happy for you and your family! Goosebumps, tears and a happy dance here!

  6. Lillian March 12, 2012 at 11:53 am Reply

    I am so happy for you guys! It is situations like yours that make me realize how lucky I am and thankful I should be.

  7. mel March 13, 2012 at 3:54 pm Reply

    KM,
    What wonderful news! You know, I don’t think it matters to God so much what words we use when we praise him. The point is that we praise him!
    hugs sweetie!
    BBB

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

