I’m Baaaaaaack…

Well, I am back folks.  That is if there are still any folks out there.  I really REALLY enjoyed my bloggy break, but I also really missed it.  It nagged at me each day, the amount of memories that we were making that I wasn’t blogging about.  I don’t know what it is about blogging that I like so much.  I love all you fellow bloggers and readers, but mostly I think it is because I know that someday the girls will get such a kick out of coming here and seeing our memories.  However, it’s not like it’s the end of the world if I don’t blog, right?  I mean, my mother had no access to blogs and yet, I am still alive and well.  But like I said, it was just nagging at me, all of the fun things that were going blogless.

For instance, there was the great “leotard” Scrabble moment (Nag!)…then there was all of the cool crochet stuff I have been making (Nag!)…and how about Katie’s awesome limo ride experience?! (Big Nag!)  Hannah’s 7th birthday!  Katie’s 10th birthday! (Double NAG!)  All of that completely unblogged!  I may have to go back and blog about some of those.  With the exception of the “leotard” incident because that was not actually a big deal at all.  Unless you are a crazy old spinster who thinks that an 8-point word in Scrabble is a big deal, which I’m sure you are not and do not.

I also worked out a lot of things that were sucking my time (and the life) out of me.  I didn’t realize it at the time, but I think I was suffering from a little bit of depression there for a while.  I was doing too much and then feeling extremely frustrated with myself because I was constantly stressed and/or exhausted on top of feeling like a failure because I couldn’t seem to do everything I was trying to do with any kind of ease or at the very least without frustration. For starters, I am no longer subbing.  I found that the money wasn’t really worth the stress.  After a day of subbing I would come home cranky, tired, stressed and not at all in the mood to cook, clean, help with homework or run to practices.  And forget about playing.  Mama had no time for such shenanigans.  I had just spent an entire day with a large number of rude, disrespectful, loud and out of control children.  No way I was doing anything but the essentials when we got home.  How very very sad.  Ick!  I don’t like me then.

I have realized how very easy it can be to get yourself so wrapped up in the doing of all of these “things” that don’t matter all that much.  Top that with the fact that I find it very hard to say no when someone asks something of me.  Not a good combination for me.  I very easily take on too many things.  And it seems that my poor family pays the price for it.

I am still volunteering in both of the girls’ classes, which I truly enjoy.  I love being there and spending time with them and their friends and just knowing what is going on in the school in general.  When you become a familiar face in the school, you get to be in the know a little bit more and I feel connecting with my girls’ teachers is definitely important.  I am still running them to practices and such, but since I cut out the subbing and I decided not to spend tons of time on extreme couponing anymore because even though it saves a lot of money, it requires a ton of time, I am breathing a little easier these days.  I still use coupons, mind you, but I don’t get EVERY deal and I don’t clip every single one in the event that I might score an awesome deal on it at some point in the future before it expires.  No digs on anyone out there that does it, I’m just not right now.  I’ll clip for things we use on a regular basis still, but that’ll be it.

Now that I have a little more time on my hands, I am back to making a lot of our food myself rather than buying all the pre-packaged stuff, which fits in really well with less couponing.  A lot of the food coupons out there are for foods that aren’t quite as healthy as I’d like us to eat.  But because I was away from home so much, that was what I resorted to buying because it was quick and easy. A few months of that and we were all getting really blah.  Did you know that eating blah food makes you feel blah?  Well it does. Not to mention what it does to the ol’ waistline.  I even started slacking off on my walking, something I have NEVER done and that just added to the blah.  And I just decided that, to quote my buddy Barney, it was time to “nip it!”

And since I am back to making real food again, I’m looking forward to posting more recipes on here.  My goal is to do one a week.  We shall see.  Let’s not get ahead of ourselves here.

So that’s it for now.  I’m back and happy to be so.  And because I once said that blog posts with no pictures are big snoozers…here ya go!

This is a pic from Katie’s limo experience.  She won a contest at her ortho’s office and she and some of her friends (and sister, because yes, I am a mean mom who made her take her sister 🙂 got picked up from school in a stretch hummer, driven around town for a little bit and then taken to our local pizza joint.  It was so cool!

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “I’m Baaaaaaack…

  1. Christy February 17, 2012 at 10:07 am Reply

    Welcome back friend!!!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • klutzymama February 17, 2012 at 10:08 am Reply

      Thanks, buddy. 🙂

  2. mel February 17, 2012 at 11:29 am Reply

    KM, I have missed you! Other blogs, besides Christy’s of course seem flat next to you!
    hugs and you are not a mean mom!
    hugs and welcome home!
    BBB

    • klutzymama February 17, 2012 at 11:53 am Reply

      Thanks, Triple B! You are so sweet. I am very happy to be blogging again.

  3. Gretchen February 17, 2012 at 1:42 pm Reply

    Finally, I knew you’d be back. T said you had so many funny stories to tell and I was hoping you would be telling us on your blog. And I love my coffee cozy that you made.

  4. Becky February 17, 2012 at 2:09 pm Reply

    The prodical sister returns!!!
    YAY! Welcome back.
    I have missed you!

  5. auntju February 18, 2012 at 7:51 pm Reply

    I rather thought a picture of the word L-E-O-T-A-R-D was in order. I don’t know if you know this, but that word uses 7 of the allotted Scrabble tiles… that’s right, 7! Another Spinster Blogworthy Moment, that your poor readers were forced to miss!

    (why do I feel the sudden urge to ride something heavy and unwieldy from my house to your house on my bike, possibly while wearing a L-E-O-T-A-R-D?)

    • klutzymama February 18, 2012 at 9:46 pm Reply

      PUH-LEASE! That word was W-E-A-K! And it has been quite a few years since you rode the case of water from my house to yours. Perhaps you are too old and frail now to repeat such a magnificent feat, yes?

  6. Becky (stinkylemsky) February 19, 2012 at 10:22 am Reply

    Welcome back! 🙂

  7. Jen February 22, 2012 at 8:22 am Reply

    Yeah! I am so happy you are back. I must say that over the last couple years I started stepping down from most of those “things” that were taking my niceness away from my family…the PTO president, the band uniform person, the secretary, the leader…blah, blah. blah. I finally feel relaxed and at a place I can breathe and be nice to my family again. Looking forward to hearing of more shenanigans.
    Oh, and that limo ride must have been fun!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

