Why Multi-Tasking Is Not My Strong Suit

This past week has been a complete blur.  I have been subbing a lot again, even though I said I wasn’t going to do it anymore.  I feel bad because I heard through the grapevine that there aren’t as many subs this year as last and so I have a hard time saying no.  I told the lady that schedules the subs to only call me when she can’t find anyone else and I’m still getting called about twice a week.  On top of that, I am volunteering on Wednesdays & Fridays in the girls’ classes.  Then running the girls to basketball & softball practices, and taking George to get his errands done along with my own.

My house is suffering for it.  I have a mountain of laundry in the basement.  And the rest of the house is a wreck.  I decided that today I would really get organized because the coming week promises to be another blur.

I’ve been washing & hanging clothes on the line, vacuuming, dusting, etc., trying to get as much done as possible.  Trying to get ahead of the game, if you will.

A few weeks ago, Brian & the girls & I had a little bonfire in our backyard.  My cousin lives across the alley from us, so we went over & borrowed their skewers for roasting marshmallows.  I’ve been meaning to wash them & give them back to him.  So, I started the water in the sink & put the skewers in.  I walked out of the room and somehow got the idea to vacuum the stairs real quick.  However, I forgot one little thing…the water in the kitchen sink was still running.  It probably took me 10 minutes to vacuum the stairs.  I walked back in to the kitchen & found this…

I ran over & shut the water off just in time.  The water was teetering on the edge of spilling over.  This is typical for me.  You would be surprised at how many times I do absent-minded things like this.  Actually you probably wouldn’t be that surprised, would you?

Last week I was watching this famous athlete on TV (can’t remember who) and he was talking about how he really puts everything he has into whatever he happens to be doing in that moment.  For example, if he is playing with his kids, then he’s playing with his kids and not letting his mind wander to all the other things that he needs to be doing.  Or if he’s playing whatever his particular sport is, then his mind is completely into that while he is doing it, etc…

Okay, so I’m gonna go with that from now on.  Multi-tasking is just not in my wheelhouse.

5 thoughts on “Why Multi-Tasking Is Not My Strong Suit

  1. Becky November 7, 2011 at 7:01 am Reply

    “Normally”, I am very good at multi-tasking, but lately…not-so-much. So I’m right there with you, concentrating hard on getting the task at hand completed before moving to the next. I make lists to keep up with all that needs done, too. It helps!

    • klutzymama November 7, 2011 at 8:03 am Reply

      Becky, I am finding that the older I get I HAVE to have lists because I can’t remember from one minute to the next what I need to be doing. 🙂

  2. Jen November 7, 2011 at 9:02 am Reply

    Lists are the ONLY thing that saves me from complete and itter chaos…and sometimes THEY don;t even help. Glad you didn;t have to mop the floor, though.

  3. […] Klutzy Mama One hard workin' dad, an accident-prone mama, and two crazy kids! HomeAboutRecipe BoxSimple Living RSS ← Why Multi-Tasking Is Not My Strong Suit […]

  4. tmteltoe November 9, 2011 at 2:19 pm Reply

    I love multi-tasking….the more chaotic the better, I say. I do my best work under pressure and constant craziness!! And given my lifestyle, its a good thing I do!!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

