The I-Don’t-Know-How-Many-Years Annual Pumpkin Carving Party!

We had our awesome pumpkin carving party again last night.  It was so much fun, as usual.  The Spinster really outdid herself this year with some really awesome Halloween treats and even a craft for all of us to do.  We tried to figure out how long we’ve been doing this and we aren’t really sure.  It’s been at least 5 or 6 years, but we’ve only been documenting it since I’ve had my blog.

Anyway, I got some great pictures and am very happy to report that I actually did a good job on my pumpkin this year!!  If you’ll recall, last year I ended up doing just a regular jack-o-lantern face because I was so traumatized over the pumpkin-carving incident from the year before.  So, this year I was determined to redeem myself and just feast your eyes on my creation!

Never mind the fact that I completely blocked everyone & everything out for at least an hour while I was in deep concentration on my pumpkin.  Never mind the fact that I had pumpkin pulp from head to toe by the time I was finished and never mind the fact that I looked like I had been run over by a mack truck from the amount of stress I was under to be successful.

Never mind all that, k?  I was a pumpkin carving queen, people!

My sister was a lazy bum and just carved a heart into her pumpkin.  Puh-lease!  But we did get a really cool picture of the heart that she cut out, so I’ll let it slide…this time.

Nanner decided to draw on hers instead of carve (thank you, Lord!).  And then after we had put candles in all of them and she saw how cool they looked, promptly changed her mind.  We were out of daylight at this point, so I am gonna help her carve it this weekend.

Katie did an EXCELLENT job on hers.  I expected no less, she is a perfectionist.

My niece, Madie, made an “I {HEART} Candy” pumpkin.  😀

Mamaw wasn’t feeling well, so she didn’t carve this year & the Spinster made a cool ghost picture on hers.

This crocheted candy bowl was the secret project that I told you about a while back.  I made it for the Spinster as a thank-you for always hosting such a great party.

Look at the awesome spread that the Spinster prepared!

After we were all done with carving & eating, we sat down to do a fabulous bonfire.

Did you happen to notice the goose in the noose up in the tree in that last picture?  Well, you might think that was part of our spooky party decor, but actually that is a practical joke that my uncle (the Spinster’s brother) played.  He was supposed to take that goose to the dump for Mamaw, but instead came over & hung it in the Spinster’s tree.  We thought it went along perfectly with our party’s theme.

We ended the night with an adorable little craft.  The Spinster went over to the graveyard the day before and collected some small rocks.  She then got some twigs, orange acrylic paint & tacky glue.  We painted the rocks orange, attached pieces of twigs to the top for stems & then used black Sharpies to draw on jack-o-lantern faces.  It was quick and easy & I thought they turned out awesome.  What do you think?

6 thoughts on “The I-Don’t-Know-How-Many-Years Annual Pumpkin Carving Party!

  1. mel October 15, 2011 at 9:35 pm Reply

    I LOVE the Spinsters shirt!
    KM it looks like y’all had a blast!
    hugs darlin”
    BBB

  2. Jen October 16, 2011 at 8:22 am Reply

    The rock Jack o lanterns are too cute! How long was it until the goose was discovered? What a fun family tradition!

  3. Lillian October 17, 2011 at 8:36 am Reply

    Love the pumpkins and what a neat craft idea! Looks like another great year!!

  4. tmteltoe October 17, 2011 at 10:17 am Reply

    Honestly…..what catches your eye when you first look at the picture of our finished product?? THE HEART, thats what! its adorable and very original if you ask me!! 😉
    Not to mention it only took 10 mins…..then I got to relax and enjoy the party…..not spend 3rs stressing out about all the lil’ details!
    HA!

    It was a blast, and I look forward to next years!!!

  5. Becky October 22, 2011 at 9:01 am Reply

    Ok, I’ve been reading about your pumpkin carving party every year and I absolutely love this idea. Next year either I get an invite or I am having my own pumpkin carving party. LOL
    It looks like so much fun!!!
    I love that candy basket! Pattern pleeze!!! Or where can I find it?
    That goose with the noose is so funny.
    And I need to to rock hunting. What a cute idea!
    The pumpkins look great! I think you have redeemed yourself~

    • klutzymama October 22, 2011 at 8:24 pm Reply

      Becky, you would be welcome at our pumpkin party! 😀 Here’s the link to the website where I got the pattern for the bowl. You will have to register to see the pattern, but it’s quick & free. http://www.lionbrand.com/patterns/90434AD.html?r=1

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

