How I Roll When the Girls Go Back to School

As much as I hate the short summer breaks that the school systems have now (I mean, they are being cheated out of an entire month of summer break, I guess the good thing is that they don’t really know since it’s always been this way for them) once I accept it, I welcome my days of peace & quiet with open arms.

Here are the little darlings on their first day of 1st & 4th grades.

Brian & I walked them to school.  Nanner took an apple to her teacher.  🙂  She was a little hesitant when we got there and said, “But Mama, what if I miss you?”

I assured her that she was going to have a great time in first grade and we made it with no tears this year.  Even I shed no tears.  I did have a lump in my throat the size of a compact car, but I at least held the tears back.

Katie, as expected, bebopped right into her classroom with a huge smile on her face.  That girl really loves school.

Upon returning to our humble abode, Brian proceeded to go back to bed and I was giddy with excitement over the possibilities of what I could do today.  I opted to start the day off with taking the dogs for a walk.  We’ve had a spell of BEAUTIFUL weather lately and I’ve been soaking it up as much as I can.

After that, I came home and cranked up the oldies and got down to some serious mopping of the kitchen & bathroom.  If you’d like a little bit of inspiration for a quick cleaning task, I give you this.  I danced all around the kitchen mopping to this song.  See, when your kids go back to school there is no one to roll their eyes at you and complain and try to thwart your dancing/singing/cleaning endeavors.  And you will like it, trust me – I know this from experience.

So, after my mini-marathon of cleaning, I fixed some Caesar chicken & spinach wraps for Brian & I for lunch and had some deliciously sweet watermelon on the side and a big ol’ glass of sweet tea.

Next up on the to-do list for the day is a bike ride, followed by a trip to the Dollar General for some bleach.  I was gonna wash my car today, but I’m running out of time and besides there are a plethora of school days and solid gold oldies in my future so we’ll save that one for another day.  I’ll be making a batch of brownies this afternoon for the girls to have when they get home.  It’s kind of become a first-day-of-school tradition that I have a warm pan of brownies waiting for them after their first day back.  I can’t wait to hear how it goes.

Tonight Katie is going to an 80’s-themed birthday party.  I can’t wait to post a picture of her outfit.  🙂

Nanner is going to go spend some time with her Mamaw while Katie is at the party and the Spinster and I head off to see Planet of the Apes.  We are super stoked!

So there you have it, life will be getting back to a normal routine for me now that we have said our goodbyes to the lazy, hazy days of summer.

Oh and in case you want to go out and wash your car or perhaps run the vacuum, I’ll leave you with one more inspirational song to get your bootie shakin’ so you can knock those items off your to-do list.  This is one of my favorite CCR songs.  (I think I say that about every one of their songs)

6 thoughts on “How I Roll When the Girls Go Back to School

  1. Kim August 12, 2011 at 12:25 pm Reply

    Wow, I can’t believe they go back already! I hope they both have a wonderful year. They look so cute.
    Want to come clean our car? Two weeks on the road really did a number on it both inside and out. We hit some big crickets in South Dakota!
    Have fun tonight!

    • klutzymama August 12, 2011 at 12:31 pm Reply

      I bet you guys were so excited to have your Hopie back!! Or do you spell it Hopey? Hopee? I don’t know – but I bet you were thrilled to have her back. She’s such a sweet girl – I know Mamaw had a wonderful time with her.

  2. Tana August 12, 2011 at 12:42 pm Reply

    I love the oldies….rock on, Sista!!!!

  3. Becky August 14, 2011 at 10:05 am Reply

    Two of my favorite oldies! Had me dancing in my seat. LOL
    My Boo starts school tomorrow. He’s not one of those kids who loves school. So he says. But I know deep down he’s glad to see his friends again.
    My classes ended last week, I get one week off and then back for the fall (and my last) semester. Woohoo! Can’t wait till it’s over and I can get back to work. I am so tired of being BROKE. LOL

  4. mel August 14, 2011 at 11:37 am Reply

    They are adorable as always KM!
    I have a long play list that I put on my pc that I clean to… Bangles, Veggietales… lots of differnt ones but all fast and MOOOOVING! No slow dances for me!
    hugs sweetie!
    m

  5. Jen August 15, 2011 at 12:11 pm Reply

    I have the oldies station screamin’ through the house right now…would be sadly silent here today otherwise!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

