Holy Time Travel, Batman! It’s August Already!

Wow.  I am so behind on blogging it ain’t funny.

And I’m behind on reading blogs too, so don’t take it personal if I’ve been absent from your blog for a while.  I just can’t seem to find the time to do it.

Softball, swimming, bike rides and ice cream runs have been keeping us hopping.

School starts in 11 days and the girls are bursting with excitement to get back to it.  Me?  Not so much.

Aside from the fact that I think it is ludicrous for school to start before Labor Day, there were some really negative changes made at the school at the end of the year that actually have me dreading this little school that I used to love so much.  For starters, all 17 teacher’s aides were let go and a whopping ZERO were called back.  That’s right, no aides whatsoever.

I would like to tell you a little story about how I was substitute teaching in Nanner’s class last year and how important the aide was to me that day.  The aides at our school do so much more than make copies and do recess duty.  They are teachers right along with the real teachers.  But on this particular day, there was an incident.

You see, first thing that morning, my little Nanner comes up and says, “Mama, ‘Billy’ has a knife.”  (!)

Now granted it was just a little pocket knife, but rules are rules and this had to be treated as a very serious situation.  Not to mention the fact that the little boy told someone he brought it for protection and would stab someone if he needed to.  Remember this is kindergarten!

So, as I said, it was first thing in the morning.  I had a class of 24 students and the teacher’s aide in the room with me.  The front office is very busy first thing in the morning and it’s very likely that if you call up there at that time, you won’t get an answer.  Had I not had an aide in the room with me to take the boy up to the office, I would have had to march the entire class up there to deal with this issue because you can’t leave a room full of kindergarteners by themselves and you also can’t let one walk around the building without an adult.

I could go on with more examples…like the time the little boy had head lice and the aide took him to the nurse…again, i would’ve had to walk the entire class up front.

I know in the older grades, the aides aren’t quite as needed, but in the primary level, they are indispensable and I am just so sad that the school chose to do this.  Well they say they had no choice because the money wasn’t there for the aides.  And yet, they managed to give all administrative staff a 5% salary increase.

And let me not forget to mention that Katie will be going into 4th grade and they cut back to only 2 classes which means that she will now be in a classroom with 30 students, 1 teacher and no aide.  I could scream because we specifically chose to move back here after having kids for the small classroom sizes and individualized attention we knew the girls would be getting!  We could move to the neighboring “bigger” town and get this kind of crap!

~sigh~ I digress…

Anyway, as you may have guessed, I am a little anxious about this school year.

As reluctant as I may be, the girls are quite excited and ready to go.  Katie especially because she is finally old enough to join Little Hoosiers, which is a group that gets together and learns about our state.

We’ve got all the school supplies and we took them this weekend to get their new “school shoes”.  I still need to get them some new lunch boxes as we have decided that they will no longer get to eat at school.  They didn’t eat there much before, in fact, Nanner never did, but Katie would every once in a while.  She still gets to eat there on pizza day, but I can’t handle the thought of them eating that stuff.  I’ve heard tell that our school actually has a pretty decent lunch menu, but I honestly think that the people who are spreading that around probably don’t know what real food tastes like anymore.  I can barely look at the food, let alone entertain the thought of eating it. (Geez, I am so bitter about the school right now, can you tell?)

We will wait for the weather to cool down a little before we go clothes shopping because both of them are going through a growth spurt right now and I can only imagine that nothing will fit when fall gets here.

In other news, Katie hit her first home run this past weekend.  Actually she ended up with 2 of them.  Not over the fence (although one little girl on her team did actually hit one over this weekend) but way over the outfielders heads and rolling to the fence.  It was so exciting because she’s been struggling a little with her batting this year.  Brian and I have been working with her a lot at home and we switched her to a heavier bat and that really seemed to do the trick.  She was so excited!

Softball is over for Nanner so she has resigned herself to getting as dirty as possible at all of Katie’s tourneys.  That and killing bugs and trying to put them on me.  Her and another “little sister” from the team are like two peas in a pod.  They actually found a huge locust that was either dying or already dead, buried it (after trying to throw it on me and some of the other spectators) and then built a small memorial for it out of sticks and rocks.

Nanner has pretty much spent her entire summer climbing trees, running barefoot and just in general being covered in boo boos, black eyes and band-aids.  She got a new bike and the very next day decided it would be really cool to race the neighbor boy on it.  She hit gravel, wrecked and ripped the skin off her knee.  And it was bad enough to make me cringe.  After the wreck, her seat was turned completely sideways and had two holes ripped in it.  She’s lucky to have only tore her knee up.

And on a happy note, she hasn’t got poison ivy at all this year!  (Knock on wood.)

That’s what we’ve been up to, hopefully I can get back to blogging and reading blogs on a somewhat more routine basis once school is in full swing.

9 thoughts on “Holy Time Travel, Batman! It’s August Already!

  1. Lillian August 1, 2011 at 12:49 pm Reply

    Sounds like a great summer! I quite buying school lunch as well. It is cheaper for me to buy her lunch but the saying goes you get what you pay for. They are trying to pass an all new school calendar here and I am not game!!!

    • klutzymama August 1, 2011 at 1:25 pm Reply

      I heard about that, Lil. I am wondering how people who have to work are going to handle these extended vacation times during the school year. I hope we don’t follow suit here. But there’s been a rumor going around for a few years that we will eventually be taken over by BCSC. And with what I’ve seen the past couple of years in our corporation, that wouldn’t surprise me at all.

  2. Susan August 1, 2011 at 1:35 pm Reply

    It sounds like a fun summer! I can’t believe school is almost here!!

  3. Gretchen August 1, 2011 at 4:38 pm Reply

    Oh I miss you blogging so much! But real life is much more important. I love the picture of Hannah in the tree.

  4. Becky August 1, 2011 at 9:05 pm Reply

    Way to go, Katie!!!
    Poor Nanner! Hope she grows out of her “boo boo” stage soon.
    I know the school thing is bothering you, but I’m thinking that it’s still better than the big schools we have here. Lord have mercy, there’s a lot of kids in this area. Not much one to one learning going on here. Unless you have the money to pay for a private school.

  5. Donna August 2, 2011 at 9:26 pm Reply

    Completely understand your frustrations with the cutting the aides, our school district did the same,oldest Dd was a aide, she was one of the few lucky ones to remain as a shadow to one of the physically challenged students.They all start back to school on August 8th. Willyou still be teaching this fall?
    Loved reading about your summer, sounds like it was tons of fun!!

    • klutzymama August 3, 2011 at 6:53 am Reply

      Donna, I am undecided on subbing this year. I am thinking I may try it a few times to see how it goes without an aide. The 8th??? You guys are starting even earlier than us! Of course, you are starting on a Monday, which makes sense, where as we are starting on a Friday, which makes none. 🙂

  6. Farmchick August 5, 2011 at 8:34 pm Reply

    Just out blog hopping. I am with you on school….I don’t want our kids to go back and I hate our school lunches too!! 🙂 Come on over and say hi.

  7. Jen August 11, 2011 at 9:37 am Reply

    Your feelings on school echo mine to a “T”! I am so frustrated with the entire system in my state, but it appears it is elsewhere, too. Very short summers and bizarre holidays throughout the year hinder family time, the emphasis on teachers to “fix everything” when the burden should be on the parents, the emphasis on the blasted test scores above EVERYTHING else leave me as mad as a wet hen…can you tell? 🙂 Sorry. Baseball, climbings trees and just being a kid is what summer is about…sounds like you guys did it well!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

