Around the Yard

I spent a lot of time outside today and decide to snap a few pictures from around the yard.

*But I must warn you first that I have become addicted to the word ‘lush’ lately.  Be prepared to see it often in this post.

My flowers are blooming away.  They survived the hail storm.  Well most of them did, anyway.

Notice how lush and large my mums are?  Every year they go nuts and I am scolded repeatedly by my Mamaw about how I need to “peench ’em” back so they won’t get all tall and gangly.  Tall and gangly is probably about the exact opposite of lush, don’t you think?

I have no idea why I took a picture of and posted both sides of the porch.  They are essentially the same.  But I done did it, so there ya go!

This is our side porch.  It never gets much attention but I do like to sit out there sometimes in the mornings and read & have my coffee.  Nothing very lush going on here.

This is my window box that houses my herbs.  I have decided that the container is too small for everything that I have in there because they aren’t doing so well.  I took the oregano out today and put it in it’s own pot and put it on my kitchen counter.  I will probably do the same with the basil.  The cilantro may be too far gone, I don’t know.

This box is where my herbs were last year and they did excellent.  I should’ve kept them there.  But instead I planted green onions, banana peppers, rainbow peppers & habaneros in it.  They are growing like crazy.  It’s LUSH.

This box has my cucumbers, yellow maters and cherry maters.

This one has romas and a few different types of slicers.  This is my 3rd year with these boxes and each year has been better than the last.  I use compost in the boxes and the plants really seem to thrive on it.  I also used some blood meal this year (to deter the rabbits) and that seemed to help them too.  My neighbor’s tomatoes, whose garden is in the ground instead of boxes, are probably at least half as tall and half as wide as mine.  Not at all lush like mine.  The only answer I can come up with is the compost.  He’s organic like me, so the only real difference is the compost and maybe the blood meal.

Anyway, on with the rest of the fascinating, edge-of-your-seat yard tour.  Don’t you just love clothes on the line?  I do.  I especially love the way my sheets smell after drying in the sun.

And here’s my bike.  Well, actually my mom’s bike that I stole from her, but she never used it, so it was just sitting there being neglected.  I especially love the big butt seat.  It lets me ride forever without much pain in my bum.

And finally, I am so glad that I was too lazy to plant something else here didn’t give up on my morning glories.  I thought that they had died, and was then told by someone that they are annuals and not perennials – but lo & behold, there is a vine climbing up that trellis amidst all the lush weeds growing around it.  If you look close, you can see it.

And that’s all folks!  Try not to let the excitement of this blog post keep you from sleeping tonight okay?

Oh and one last thing:  Lush.  Lushy.  Lushy Lushington.

Okay, I think I’ve got that out of my system now.  Thank you for tolerating it.

8 thoughts on “Around the Yard

  1. Gretchen June 30, 2011 at 7:44 am Reply

    I think your yard is lushiliscious. Wowza is all I have to say about your tomatoes! Everything looks so great and I would like to see more yard tours throughout the growing season. Just my two cents . . . T also tells me I need to peench back my mums but they are kinda tiny since Ryan mowed over them and I had to replant them, but at least they are growing.

  2. Tana June 30, 2011 at 9:16 am Reply

    Well said, Gretch!! Very LUSH-tastic!! I want some cucumbers, Sis. Yummy!! 🙂

  3. mel June 30, 2011 at 10:01 am Reply

    KM,
    you yard is lovely and lush.
    Mine is anything but. It is so dry here even the natural born weeds are dying off…
    I am barely able to keep the white iris, porch plants and 1 rose bush going. I am trying with the purple iris but I am thinking they maybe toast already.
    Thank you for reminding me what a lawn should look like!
    hugs
    BBB

  4. Christy June 30, 2011 at 3:05 pm Reply

    Your garden, lawn and flowers are some of the lushest I have seen….much lusher than mine! I loved your garden tour….very lush-tastic!

  5. Becky July 1, 2011 at 10:31 am Reply

    Beeeee-u-teee-ful!
    Oh, oops! it all looks so :”lush”. tee hee
    Looks like you have a green thumb for “lush” ness.
    Sorry, I couldn’t resist.

  6. Becky (stinkylemsky) July 1, 2011 at 8:16 pm Reply

    I almost feel like I should title myself “other Becky” since she always comments first 🙂

    Unfortunuately, I think your cilantro is a goner. Once it flowers, it’s pretty much useless as anything except coriander. Not that I know this because mine did the same thing or anything…

    We use a lot of cilantro and I read in my container gardening book that your best bet is to plant a few seeds each wee and then you’ll have a continual harvest. Even if you keep it from flowering, you’ll still only get 2 harvests from each seed, so it’s kind of tricky!

    And lush. Of course.

    • klutzymama July 2, 2011 at 7:13 am Reply

      Other Becky, Thanks, I didn’t know that about cilantro and we don’t use it a whole bunch, so maybe I will just buy it at the store when I do need it from now on. My basil has also flowered. Does that make it a goner too? Now basil I use a lot of, but it just didn’t do very well this year. I’m thinking it’s because it was too crowded in there.

  7. Jen July 7, 2011 at 12:08 pm Reply

    Your garden is wonderful and lush! I am jealous…mine has been neglected during a super hot week…we’ll see if it comes back. The basil should be fine…just pinch it back under the flowers. Other Becky, I did not know that about cilantro. It makes so much sense and makes me feel a bit better about never being able to grow it well.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

