My Dad

Dad,

Happy Father’s Day.  As I am typing this, I am trying to go back in time as far as my frazzled mind will let me.  One of the earliest memories I have of you is when we lived in Nading’s trailer park.  I guess I would’ve been 5 or so.  You were in your bedroom lifting weights and listening to CCR.  (To this day, every single time I hear CCR, I think of you.)  Tana & I were laying on your bed watching you.  I can remember thinking how big your muscles were.  🙂  I also remember that you used to let us hang off your arms and you would use us as your weights.

If someone asked me to describe you in a few words, the words I would use would be Christian, humble, HILARIOUS, lover of children & animals, kind.

I thank God for you.  Your love for the Lord is an inspiration to me and makes me want to draw nearer to Him.  When I have questions you are always willing to sit down and talk with me and direct me to the places in God’s word where I can find the answers. And I love that you will then follow up with me later to make sure that I found the answers I was looking for.

One of the things that I admire most about you is that even though life hasn’t been an easy ride for you, you don’t complain and you always find a way to laugh and make us laugh with you.  You get this from your mom.  I know this because of the stories you’ve told me of her.  She was the same way.  What a wonderful gift from the mother who was taken from you way too soon.

I love hearing stories from your youth.  I wonder how many fathers think to pass down their family’s history the way that you have to me.  I love the fact that we still live in the same small town and that when I pass by certain places I am reminded of stories you have told me about the things you and your brothers & sisters used to do as well as things that you, mom, Tana & I have done here as well.  It feels good to have roots.

Some of the memories that I love the best are playing pitch & catch with you in the yard (remember when we used to throw the ball up against that big brick wall at Lincoln Village?), the way you used to pin me & Tana down and tickle us til we were almost peeing our pants, your BBQ cheeseburgers on the grill (no one will ever do them better), going to the movies together (this is still one of my most favorite things to do), watching the Yankees games on TV together (another current fave).  Remember when I tried to make tacos and didn’t realize that you had to drain the grease out of the hamburger and they were the slimiest, nastiest things you could ever imagine?  Remember when it used to take me FOREVER to do the dishes because I would stand at the sink and whine about how my head hurt and I couldn’t stand to do one more dish?  I could never get out of doing those dumb dishes no matter how many life threatening illnesses I suddenly contracted.  Remember when you & I were the maintenance crew at KOA camp grounds and I was so lazy?  We used to do impersonations of the owners (“Getcha some hot, soapy Ajax water…”). Remember when you used to wake us up by singing, “Wake up, Little Rosebuds….Wake up!”?  Remember when I used to tell you that I couldn’t get up for school because my legs were stuck to the bed?  Oh and I can’t leave out Agga Daggas or Bubble Gum!  I could go on…

We have seen our share of struggles as most families have.  Remember when Tana & I had to live with Bren and you & mom  had to live in the basement of some church friends when you lost your job?  Remember the winter that we had no heat and we all piled into bed together at night to keep warm?  Being an adult now, I look back at those times with fondness.   May sound crazy to look at our struggles with fondness, but I can see as plain as day now how those things only pulled us closer together…even when we were apart.

But the main thing that I want to say here is that I hope you will always know that I couldn’t have asked for a better dad.  I hope that you never feel that you are insignificant or wish that you could have given us more or done things differently because I consider myself the luckiest daughter in the world.  You will likely never know how much of a blessing you have been to me.

I love you, Daddy.  Happy Father’s Day.

6 thoughts on “My Dad

  1. Gretchen June 19, 2011 at 9:27 am Reply

    That was the sweetest tribute ever! So true too!

  2. Becky June 19, 2011 at 11:12 am Reply

    Beautiful tribute! Brought tears to my eyes.

  3. MIL June 19, 2011 at 3:35 pm Reply

    Being a sentimental MIL…this brought tears to my eyes as I read it and thought of my memories of my Dadddy.

  4. Susan June 19, 2011 at 7:38 pm Reply

    Awww… Very sweet. Thanks for sharing your tribute to your Dad with us. What a wonderful Man with a wonderful daughter.

  5. Christy June 19, 2011 at 9:32 pm Reply

    I love this post! It made me want to hug your Daddy and I’ve never even met him! I love the family picture!!! You and your sister are sooo cute!

  6. tmteltoe June 20, 2011 at 9:06 am Reply

    You say it so well, sister!! We are very lucky to have him, he is an amazing man!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

