Those Wascally Wabbits

Don’t call PETA on me, but I am seriously considering borrowing the little boy next door’s BB gun and camping out in my backyard for a few nights.  The rabbits are wreaking havoc on my garden!  I have already had to replant several of my pepper & tomato plants.  Someone told me to try Blood Meal and it worked great for a few days, but the bag says only to apply every 2 months and I’m left wondering if I will hurt my plants if I apply it again already.

Does anyone know?

I have to be rid of these varmints!  And I don’t want to use chemicals.  That would seriously thwart my organic efforts thus far.

I used to love those little fluffy bunnies.  Honestly, I was kind of like Snoopy when it came to bunnies.

But now…now they have moved into the #2 slot on my most hated enemies list.  Right behind the stupid camel crickets.  I can’t believe that the day has come that I might actually say this, but I may have to move them to the #1 spot if this continues.  And that is saying a lot, people.

And because no one on the face of this earth can talk about rabbits without channeling Elmer, I’d like to leave you with this video that the Spinster sent to me a while back.   Doesn’t have a thing to do with wabbits, but it cracks me up.  And it’s not even the real Elmer.  It’s the new Elmer.  Again, that is saying a lot, people.  I don’t like change.

It’s called melting…on the bwead…

7 thoughts on “Those Wascally Wabbits

  1. Becky June 15, 2011 at 7:20 am Reply

    I read somewhere the other day to grate soap and sprinkle it around the perimeter of your garden and it will keep out most critters(deer, rabbit….). I haven’t tried it yet because the critters haven’t found my garden(knock on wood). But you can try it and let me know how it works. Goodluck!!!
    I had grilled cheese yesterday and I must say it just doesn’t excite me like it does Elmer. LOL

    • klutzymama June 15, 2011 at 8:05 am Reply

      Thanks Becky! I will try the soap.

  2. Gretchen June 15, 2011 at 9:46 am Reply

    Surround your crops that rabbits like with garlic and onions and mexican marigolds. Use Jerry Baker’s All-Purpose Varmint Repellent:
    2 eggs
    2 cloves of garlic
    2 T hot chile pepper
    2 T ammonia
    2 cups of hot water
    Mix ingredients and let sit for 3 or 4 days, then paint it on on fences or wherever else unwanted varmints are venturing – like the sides of your boxes.

    He also says to lightly sift wood ash on all your plants.

    This is from Jerry Baker’s “Terrific Tomatoes, Sensational Spuds, and Mouth-watering Melons. You could get it or other books of his from the library. Or do what we did – build a 6 foot privacy fence.

    • klutzymama June 15, 2011 at 2:23 pm Reply

      Thanks Gretch! We have a 3/4 acre yard so I don’t think the privacy fence is in the budget, but I’d love to have a smaller fence around my boxes…

  3. mel June 15, 2011 at 1:00 pm Reply

    Man, KM I can’t even get my garden to spwout!
    The heat hit too fast this year. Who knew we would hit 90s in March?

    The new Elmer… ummmm no def a fake

    hugs
    BBB

    • klutzymama June 15, 2011 at 1:20 pm Reply

      Heh heh…spwout. Love it!

  4. Donna June 15, 2011 at 3:14 pm Reply

    My neighbor hangs aluminum pie tins,soda cans and such all around and above his garden..the clanking scares the critters,(drives the neighbors nuts)he had few problems with the wabbits and squirrels last year and the tomatoes were yummy so no complaints from this neighbor;)

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

