A Fun Day with my Fam

My cousin came up with this awesome idea to go to Indy for the day and visit the Lilly Estate.

Here’s a little snippet from the website:

Oldfields–Lilly House and Gardens is a 26-acre historic estate and house museum located on the IMA campus, north of the main Museum complex. Lilly House is a 22-room mansion that was once the home of J.K. Lilly Jr., the late Indianapolis businessman, collector and philanthropist. Known historically as Oldfields, the estate features gardens and grounds designed in the 1920s by Percival Gallagher of the famous landscape architecture firm Olmsted Brothers.

This was a really neat tour and the gardens were beautiful, even though the weather didn’t cooperate with us too much.

I loved this staircase.

Me, my cousin & her cutie-pie daughter in the library.

Okay, so my favorite room in the house was the kitchen, of course.  And I think it was Gretchen’s fave too, although she was literally swooning over the butler’s pantry, so the kitchen actually might have been her 2nd favorite. 🙂

Do you not just LOVE this oven?!

My sweet Aunt T and there's that cutie-pie again (her granddaughter). 🙂

Now in this next picture, I asked this teenage boy to take a picture of all of us and he cut my sweet Mamaw out of it!  Thanks a lot buddy.

Me & my Flower Bud/sweet Mamaw

Spinster, T, Mamaw & Gretch

Cousin Kristen & Miss Makenna looking at the fishies in the pond

Pretty orchid

This next picture is a flower that had a big ol’ fat raindrop right in the middle of it that looked like a diamond.  We all thought it was pretty neat.

And last but not least, this is my beautiful cousin Kristen & her sweet baby boy, Hudson.  🙂


7 thoughts on “A Fun Day with my Fam

  1. Donna May 18, 2011 at 5:09 pm Reply

    Beautiful grounds, and house,(and family 🙂 ) where in Indy is it, may have to plan a weekend road trip. Didn see the girls were they still in school?

    • klutzymama May 18, 2011 at 5:12 pm Reply

      Donna, Yeah, the girls were at school. It’s on the grounds of the Indianapolis Museum of Art. *And it’s FREE!* You can click on the link at the beginning of the post and it will take you to the website where you can get more information. And in the summer, they have outdoor movies at the amphitheater, I’m gonna take the girls back for that.

      • Donna May 18, 2011 at 7:37 pm

        Thanks, didnt see the link. Hubby and I are retired, watch the Grandbabies 4 days a week have Fridays free, have added it to our weekend escape list 🙂

      • klutzymama May 18, 2011 at 7:47 pm

        Awesome, let me know how you like it!

  2. Gretchen May 18, 2011 at 9:37 pm Reply

    You got some gorgeous pics! It was such a great day!

  3. Kim May 19, 2011 at 9:19 am Reply

    Looks like a wonderful day!

  4. Becky May 20, 2011 at 11:10 pm Reply

    Beautiful place. Love those gardens and that pond! That is some kind of fancy oven. I’d love to have one like that in my kitchen. Call me old fashioned, but I love retro stuff.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

