What Do You Do When Mama Goes On Strike?

I can’t even believe I am saying this, but I am sick to death of cooking right now.  I’m pretty sure I’ve never said those words, come to think of it.  I like cooking.  I even love it sometimes.  But for some reason, right now, there’s nothing I detest more in life.

And I have to go to the grocery store in the morning and I can’t even bring myself to make out a list.  I know, I know…not making a list is like the cardinal sin of grocery shopping.  What do I do, people???

Seriously, the thought of going through my recipes and trying to plan out all the meals for the following week literally makes me want to vomit right now.

So, in all likelihood, tomorrow I will go to the store, blindly slinging things in to my cart and end up spending a million dollars and coming home with nothing of any nutritional value whatsoever.

If that doesn’t scream Mother of the Year, then I beg of you, tell me what does!

11 thoughts on “What Do You Do When Mama Goes On Strike?

  1. Gretchen May 11, 2011 at 10:09 pm Reply

    Whatever you do put this on your list – Grilled marinated chicken, aglio e olio pasta, buttered almond green beans and peaches. That aglio e olio pasta (http://ouritaliankitchen.blogspot.com/2010/06/aglio-e-olio.html) is amazing. I bet that will get you in the mood for cooking again!

    • klutzymama May 12, 2011 at 5:45 am Reply

      Thanks Gretch. I will try that. It looks easy and fast, which seems to be the only thing I am in the mood to make right now.

  2. Becky May 12, 2011 at 7:10 am Reply

    Wish I could help ya….I’m feeling about the same way right now. I’m tired of the same old thing and most of the time when I try something new, I get “It’s ok” from the the guys.
    There’s so many other things I want to be doing. I wish I could hire someone to cook for me.

    • klutzymama May 12, 2011 at 7:29 am Reply

      I hear ya, Becky. And I also have the problem of finding something that EVERYBODY likes. I wish I could just have a maid! hahahaha!!

  3. Kim May 12, 2011 at 8:41 am Reply

    This may not be a bad thing. My experience has been after they have eaten cereal or sandwiches for dinner enough times, anything I cook is wonderful!

    • klutzymama May 12, 2011 at 12:03 pm Reply

      Ha! I like your thinking, Kim. I think maybe you are right.

  4. Lillilan May 12, 2011 at 10:19 am Reply

    I think it is spring fever. I would rather be outside than inside cooking. We have been eating quick easy stuff this week. Lunch meat, salads and other quick meals like that. Then if I do make a meal it is big enough to cover two days. Who wants to be inside when the sun is shining? Believe me it is not just you.

  5. Tana May 12, 2011 at 10:56 am Reply

    I agree with Kim, just make pb&j for a few days…you need a break. This coming from your non-cooking sister, Barfa Stewart! 🙂

    • klutzymama May 12, 2011 at 12:01 pm Reply

      Hahaha! Thank you, Barfa!

  6. Donna May 12, 2011 at 7:44 pm Reply

    I couldnt agree with you more making a list, shopping putting it all away, then dragging it out to cook it, then clean everything up is not how I like spending my time. I have found thou if most of the meals are what I like to eat,and enjoy cooking then life isnt to bad.
    And for those that protest have them eat a Pb&j sandwich a few nites in a row they will change.

    • klutzymama May 12, 2011 at 9:01 pm Reply

      That is exactly how I feel about it all right now Donna. I’m thinking maybe even I would snap out of it after eating PB&J’s for a few nights in a row. 🙂

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

