Basketball Camp & the Sunshine Society

Today was such a busy day.  I got one of my garden beds weeded, then I worked at the book fair at school, and then had to take Hannah for her first day of basketball camp.  She did really great.  They did a lot of running & drills.  She only got to shoot the ball 4 times, but made it 3 out of the 4 times.  She really liked it.

While we were waiting for Hannah to finish up, Katie & I decided to take a little walk outside around the school.  She wanted to show me the flower seeds that her class planted.

And after that, I went to the Sunshine Society Social.  This past winter, I received a letter in the mail from the Sunshine Society at the high school stating that I had been chosen by a member of the society as their “ideal woman”.  I swear to you, at first, I totally thought it was a joke someone was playing on me.  I even called the Spinster to accuse her of trickery, but turns out it was for reals.  So, just a few days ago, I get another letter saying that I need to attend the Sunshine Society Social, where the identity of the girl who chose me would be revealed.  So, that was tonight and I arrived to find that it was my sweet niece, Maryka.

I look horrid in this picture. I'm growing my hair out and I now have a mullet.

We had such a nice time and of course there was lots of good food.  Even the summer sausage, which my sister supplied and said smelled like dog food, tasted really good! 🙂

Maryka gave me this adorable planter…

and this plate which reads: Everyone needs a little food therapy now and then.

Love it!

4 thoughts on “Basketball Camp & the Sunshine Society

  1. mel May 10, 2011 at 7:15 am Reply

    Well KM I think Maryka has excellent taste in role models… and planters!

    Congrats and hugs sweetie!
    GBB

  2. Becky May 10, 2011 at 7:31 am Reply

    3 out of 4 is really good! Nanner may just be a natural.
    I alwasy loved when my kids brought home the seed cups they planted at school. And I worked really hard to keep them growing.
    I love the idea of the Sunshine Society. And tha plate and planter are adorable!

  3. Jen May 10, 2011 at 8:33 am Reply

    I love the Sunshine Society idea! Congratulations!

  4. Gretchen May 11, 2011 at 11:52 pm Reply

    Oh, how sweet of Maryka! And your hair does not look like a mullet.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

