Damage Control

We had an excellent Easter.  The girls got up and found their Easter baskets.  We went and enjoyed a wonderful service at church and then went to my MIL’s for a nice Easter lunch.  Later in the evening we went to my parents’ house for an Easter egg hunt.

I don’t know about you guys but I ate WAY too much yesterday.  We had lots of good food for lunch.  Ham, mashed potatoes, deviled eggs, mac & cheese and strawberry shortcake for dessert!  Then, of course, an overload of chocolate.

I woke up today feeling very heavy and still full.  So, I decided to make Brian & I a nice healthy salad for lunch.  I like to call it the Damage Control Salad.  After all that heavy food yesterday, it was nice to eat something light and healthy.

I seasoned some diced chicken breast with cajun seasoning and red pepper flakes.  Then I chopped up some spinach & romaine lettuce.  I topped the salad with some diced red bell pepper, sliced mushrooms, hard-boiled egg, crumbled feta cheese, homemade whole wheat croutons (recipe at the end of this post) and a little bit of western dressing.  And a juicy, red apple on the side and a big ‘ol glass of ice water.  AAAHHHHH…damage control, baby!

HOMEMADE WHOLE WHEAT CROUTONS

4 slices bread (great way to use up old bread)
2 T. parmesan cheese
1/4 t. oregano
1/4 t. celery salt
1/4 t. garlic salt
2 T. olive oil

Stack bread on top of each other.  Cut into cubes.  Place in large ziplock bag.
Add rest of ingredients and shake to coat well.
Place on cookie sheet & bake at 300 until crisp.

*This can take anywhere from 15 to 30 minutes or so depending on what kind of bread you use.  I use Health Nut bread by Brownbury and it tends to take 30 mins or more.  Just keep an eye on it.  Homemade croutons are delicious and a cheap way to add some flavor to your salad or soups.

2 thoughts on “Damage Control

  1. Gretchen April 25, 2011 at 1:53 pm Reply

    Love it! We had salad for lunch today too. Definitely needed the damage control. Thanks for sharing the crouton recipe. I have done it a few times, but don’t do it much anymore. Ryan would love it if I did though.

  2. Donna April 25, 2011 at 10:58 pm Reply

    That salad looks sooo yummy,also going to try your crouton recipie.
    I know I had waaaaaay to much food and especially chocolate yesterday, but I did enjoy every morsel
    We did the egg and tuna salad sandwiches for dinner tonite, have to get rid of a dozen dyed hardboiled eggs.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

