Proof That We Are Never Too Old To Need Our Mamas (Or Daddies)

I subbed for first grade yesterday.  We had a 2 hr delay because of all the rain we’ve had here.  I think maybe there were some people without power.  So, with a 2 hr delay, you’d think that would make for a pretty easy day in first grade, but that was not the case.  That class was just wild yesterday.  I felt like I spent the entire day disciplining them.  That makes for a day that isn’t much fun.  By the end of the day, my head was hurting so bad I could hardly see straight.  I’m telling you, our teachers are to be commended.  I don’t know how they do it every day.

I started to get migraines when I was 8 years old.  I had them pretty regularly while I was growing up.  They were the worst in my 20’s.  After having Katie, they slacked off a little and even more so after having Hannah.  Now it is pretty rare that I will get a headache that is an actual migraine.  But yesterday was a doozie!

After school was over, there was a little appreciation get-together in the cafeteria for all the school volunteers.  The teachers and staff brought in food & drinks and we each got a potted flower to take home.  It was really nice and one of the teachers even read a cute poem about volunteers.  I couldn’t stay very long for that though because my head was getting worse by the second.

It’s a good thing we live close to the school because by the time we got home, I was hunched over the steering wheel, able to keep only one eye open and barely made it in the door.  Every noise and even the tiniest bit of light felt like nails being hammered into my skull.

So what did I do?  I called my mommy.  I asked her to please come get the girls and take them to her house.  She came right over and got them.  She took them home and fed them supper and helped Hannah do her homework while I laid down in my darkened bedroom with the curtains drawn, buried under the covers with pillows stacked on my head to keep out the noise and the light.

I returned to reality 3 hours later still not feeling great, but at least able to function.  My dad brought the girls home and also brought me some headache medicine.  Funny isn’t it, how even when you are 50-something years old and your oldest baby is well on her way to 36, you never stop being a parent.  I imagine that they still worry about me and my sister just like they did when we were younger.  And I imagine I will be the same with my girls.

Thankfully I am feeling much better today.  And it’s a good thing too because we have another field trip today.  I’m afraid that there won’t be any gross stuff on this one like we had at the dump.  We’re just going to the electric company.  I’ve wracked my brain trying to think of anything that could be considered gross there, but I’m coming up empty.  Yay for the electric company!

4 thoughts on “Proof That We Are Never Too Old To Need Our Mamas (Or Daddies)

  1. Gretchen April 21, 2011 at 8:04 am Reply

    It is true I think we all still need our parents sometimes more so when we are older. I am so glad you are feeling better. Can’t wait till summer! Have fun at the electric company.

  2. Jen April 21, 2011 at 8:57 am Reply

    So glad you are feeling better! Have a good day!

  3. Christy April 21, 2011 at 5:13 pm Reply

    So glad you’re doing better! Yayyyy…for mommas and daddys! I don’t know what I’d do without mine either!!!

  4. Becky April 22, 2011 at 1:17 pm Reply

    I feel ya on those migranes. Everytime it rains, my head starts hurting. I think it has something to do with a drop in the barometric pressure.
    Anyway, I’m glad you are feeling better and glad your parents still look after you. Enjoy every last second of it!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

