Messin’ With The Spinster

I have finally found some free time to update my blog.  I’ve been subbing a the school some, so on top of the days that I am already volunteering there, I’ve been a little bit busier than usual.

Friday night was the 2nd of what is becoming an annual ritual for me, my sister and my BFF.  You might recall our adventures from a year ago.  Long story short, we got together for a sleepover and played games, watched a scary movie and most importantly, we set out to scare the crap out of The Spinster.  We didn’t really scare her and I ended up with a face full of screen door, but still, it was insanely fun.

For any who do not already know, my sister lives right next door to The Spinster.  So, Friday night, we decided that since we had so much fun last year, we really needed to do it again.  This year was a bit different though because The Spinster knew that we were going to be there.  Last year, she had no idea we were all over there having a sleepover.    But this year, we decided that we wanted to do a “camping theme” and so I had to ask if we could borrow her bonfire pit.  The plan was that we were going to roast weenies, eat baked beans and make s’mores, then camp out on the living room floor in our sleeping bags.  However, it rained all day and night, so the camping theme was pretty much nixed.  But the party still went on.  We ended up cooking our dogs indoors on the stove and opted for some chocolates instead of the s’mores.

We had to come up with a good plan for scaring The Spinster though, because as I said, she knew we were there and she was going to be watching for us.  We got really lucky though because when we started scouting out her house, we saw that all the lights were out and that she appeared to be gone.

So, we immediately sat down and started to plan out our evil scheme. (These would be our evil scheme-hatching faces)

Once we had a plan, we jumped into action.  Out the back door we went, into the pouring rain, and slipped in through her back door.

At this point, I need to give a little background info.  Several years ago, probably when Katie was just a baby, The Spinster and I started a sign business.  I blogged about it here.  Probably the most popular service we offered was the Pink Flamingos.  Basically, people would pay us to sneak over to their loved ones’ homes in the middle of the night and fill their yards with pink flamingos.  We’re talking like probably 50 or so pink flamingos stuck in the ground all over the front yard of the unsuspecting person.  It was always so funny to drive by the next day and see all those flamingos in the yard.

Anyway, back to the present.  The Spinster still has all of our sign supplies in her garage, so we decided to flamingo her living room!  We had to work quickly because we had no idea where she was or when she was coming home.  We worked in a frenzy to get them all set up and then get out of there. We, of course, were dying laughing while setting each flamingo in place.  I thought for sure that she was going to walk in on us at any time.

Once we were back safely at my sister’s house, we decided to start playing some games.  We played a fun dice game that we like to call Boom Busty and then we started to play a card game, when we heard a scratching at the window.  I assumed it was Nancy & Susie and jumped out the front door screaming like a madwoman trying to scare them.  Only who did I find huddled up against the side of the house?  Not Nancy & Susie, but the crafty ol’ Spinster trying to scare us!

She came home the opposite way she normally does so we wouldn’t hear her jeep and tried to get the jump on us before we had a chance to get her.  Heh heh…little did she know that we had already struck and there was a sea of pink at home waiting for her in her living room!

Oh and I forgot to mention that we threw about 3 or 4 flamingos in her bathtub too, for good measure.  🙂

So, after we got all of that out of the way, it was time for the scary movie.  If you recall, last year we were so scared that the 3 of us crammed into my sister’s bed to sleep to avoid being attacked by the sinister forces that we just knew were waiting for us.

This movie was so scary that we wimped out and decided to watch it the next morning!  Yeah really, it was that scary!  And honestly it was still scaring the crap out of me during the light of day!  I am very picky about my scary movies.  I love being scared, but I don’t like gore.  It’s not always easy to find a movie that will give you a good scare without being gory.  But this one, The Descent, was about a group of female friends who happen to be adrenaline junkies and decide to go cave exploring.  They end up being hunted by some mutated humanoid cave people who have been living down there for centuries.  Very scary.  And there was a little bit of gore too.  I had to cover my eyes a few times.

Well, at some point in the wee hours of the morning, I received a phone call.  I had no idea, because I was asleep and didn’t hear it ringing.  Whoever did it, made it restricted so I couldn’t see the number.  And this person left me the creepiest, sounding-like-a-mutated-humanoid-cave-person-that-wants-to-eat-me message on my phone.  I immediately blamed Nancy & Susie, but ended up finding out later that it wasn’t either of them.  I started making calls all around trying to figure out who the mystery caller was with no luck.  Funny how I am a grown adult that knows that no mutated humanoid cave people exist and still I was trying frantically to find out who played this cruel joke on me, just so I could be sure that they weren’t coming for me.  Ha!

After an entire day of searching, my sister calls to inform me that it was my 16 yr-old punk niece.  Let me just state for the record, friends, that she is going to pay for it.

And that was our fun sleepover.  Can’t wait til next year!

7 thoughts on “Messin’ With The Spinster

  1. Becky March 9, 2011 at 2:09 am Reply

    Sounds like FUN!
    I love scary movies, but I haven’t seen that one.
    So what did the Spinster think of her new decor?????

    • klutzymama March 9, 2011 at 12:26 pm Reply

      Well Becky, all I can say is that she still hasn’t take them down yet, so I think she’s enjoying their company!

  2. Jen March 9, 2011 at 1:15 pm Reply

    Too much funny! Are you already plotting next year’s adventure?

    • klutzymama March 9, 2011 at 1:16 pm Reply

      Let’s just say that the wheels are always turning, Jen! Ha ha!

  3. mel March 9, 2011 at 3:52 pm Reply

    Seriously I need to live near you. Well except for the scary movie part. I just don’t do those.
    I am glad y’all have such a good time!
    hugs
    GBB

  4. auntju March 9, 2011 at 10:19 pm Reply

    Well I must say I thought the pink chickens looked pretty good against my red walls and though I have enjoyed the long talks we’ve had and the exciting plans we’ve made for the future, last night the chickens went too far! After falling asleep in my chair and waking up at 4am, I groggily opened the front door to let the wildebeast out to potty and when I turned back around I swear one of those pink flamingos stuck out it’s neck and tripped me! I almost did a face plant into the bookcase… so needless to say I severed all ties to my new pink friends, gathered them up by their necks, and hauled them into the back room into what looks like a giant pile of pink puke! It takes much more than pink plastic to frighten the Spinster (although when I threw back the shower curtain the next day, the beady eyes of the pink flamingos in the shower did make me pee my pants a little!). So to my dear nieces and Vick, I say, thank you for your lame attempts to both scare me and harm me and I look forward to next year when I shall repay you ten-fold!

  5. Tana March 10, 2011 at 3:22 am Reply

    I LOVE US! Aunt Ju is so lucky to have us for neighbors!! 😉

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

