The Bane Of My Existence

Didn’t I just write the other day that I was going to find some things about winter to be thankful for?

I did write that, didn’t I?

Well, I lied.  I am a liar.

Winter is going to be the death of me this year.  I am cold.  I am bored.  I am withering from lack of sunshine.  I am eating just to be eating because I am cold, bored and withering.  My pants get tighter as the temps get lower.

Do you know that I even entertained the thought of cleaning today just to have something to do?  Yes, it’s that bad.

Don’t worry.  I came to my senses quickly and picked up a book instead.  But still, you can see how I am teetering on the edge of insanity, right?

And yes, I DO clean.  I always get that nasty little torture out of the way first thing in the morn, but I was actually going to do it because I could think of nothing else to do.  What is the world coming to?

Part of my problem, I know, is that I am by myself all the time.  The girls are at school.  Brian is at work.  I do get out and walk with the spindly old spinster on most days, though, so that gives me a little bit of interaction.  But the winter is hard when you’re a loner because there’s nothing to do.  At least when it’s nice out I can work in my garden or ride my bike.  In the winter I feel like a hermit.  A cold, bored, withering hermit.  A cold, bored, withering hermit that has nothing to do, so she sits around writing really long and boring blog posts about how cold, bored and withering she is.

So I called up my BFF and wondered if she wanted to get together and go up to The Willard in Franklin.  I LOVE their pizza and haven’t been there in ages.  I haven’t been anywhere in ages, now that I think about it.  And she said yes.  So we were going to go up this weekend, but then she called to say that she is terribly sick and won’t be able to, so I immediately curled into the fetal position on the floor and cried.  Wretched sobbing and gnashing of teeth took place for a great long while.

Once I recovered from that, I immediately received a text saying that more snow is on the way.

Somebody please shoot me.

11 thoughts on “The Bane Of My Existence

  1. Christy February 4, 2011 at 10:04 pm Reply

    ROTFL!!!!!!!! Okay you just totally put into words how I’ve been feeling!!!!! We got another inch or two today…and we already had 12″ on the ground!! I’m going crazy too!!….thanks for helping me to laugh in the middle of my insanity! And your quote ‘My pants get tighter as the temps get lower’…okay, you should win several bloggy awards for that!! I’d vote for ya 😉

    • klutzymama February 4, 2011 at 10:15 pm Reply

      I’m so glad to know that I’m not the only one feeling this way, Christy! If only we lived closer, we could get together and sit around in our sweats all day and get fat together. I think you guys need to move to Indiana!

  2. Christy February 4, 2011 at 10:50 pm Reply

    No!!!!! You know that is not the plan!! We would sit around in our fitness/workout clothes…getting skinny together!!!!! Right??!! We would walk, ice skate, ice hockey…whatever we had to do to maintain our slim physiques!!! But days like today…maybe we could give ourselves a break, a ONE day break from our rigorous workout schedule and wear our sweats and eat cookies (or your truffles!)!!

    • klutzymama February 4, 2011 at 11:52 pm Reply

      Oh yeah, that’s right I forgot! We are fitness queens! Ha ha!

  3. Becky February 6, 2011 at 3:38 am Reply

    I am so with ya. I’m a loner. I spend A LOT of time by myself. And I still can’t get anything done. Why is that?
    I am SICK of winter, too. We don’t have the snow ya’ll have up there, but it’s cold and I don’t like cold. I hate having to put all those layers on just to be halfway comfortable, temperature wise, but then I’m uncomfortable because I have all these dang clothes on. I can’t win. And I can’t wait for spring!!!!!!

  4. Hoosier at Heart February 6, 2011 at 12:57 pm Reply

    I would love to meet you in Franklin for pizza!!! How long will it take me to get there from Phoenix? Will I need a jacket? It’s been so long since I’ve lived in Indiana I have no winter clothes but I shall come and we shall eat pizza in our tight pants and we shall tell each other how skinny we look.

    • klutzymama February 6, 2011 at 12:59 pm Reply

      Fabulous idea! I’ve never been to Arizona, but I think it would take you a really loooong time to get here. Maybe so long that by the time you get here, you won’t need a jacket. 🙂

  5. mel February 6, 2011 at 5:11 pm Reply

    I too am a hermit. I am cold also but I REFUSE to wither.
    I finally get to stay home and I plan to revel in it!
    Where I live snow is unusual. Though this year we are blessed with more than normal. More is expected Wednesday and Thursday here.

    We need the moisture.

    Think of this as prewatering for your garden.
    hugs
    GBB

  6. Lillian February 7, 2011 at 4:16 pm Reply

    You are not alone. I work during the day but still have the boring routine of dinner, homework and laundry. I want to go outside when I get home fire up the grill and swing on the swingset. I will tell you I just had Willard pizza a couple weeks ago and its as good as ever. If you are ever in need of a friend you know my number!!

  7. Kathy February 7, 2011 at 4:37 pm Reply

    Well, if it’s true that misery loves company,then make room for me too. I am so sick of cold weather and snowy days. If this keeps up I won’t have anything to wear by spring! I become this couch potato who reads,surfs the web & watches LMN movies most of the day(not necessacerily in that order-& may have forgotten how to spell) In between all this activity,I try to squeeze in a little cleaning & laundry. There are only 21 days left in this month. I figure if we can make to the end of the month,we are almost home free.

  8. Averyl February 17, 2011 at 8:50 pm Reply

    Awah! I can relate, being up in Maine! Except for the cleaning part. In that I like it because it not only appeases my retentive self but because it IS something to do inside that gets you moving! There is no shame in cleaning for fun! None! : )

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

