Our Old Beat-Up Furniture

Right now I’m sitting on our junky old couch.  On any given day, I may look at this old furniture and give a heavy sigh and and long for nice, new furniture.  But today I like it for all of it’s shabbiness.

We bought this furniture when Katie was just a baby.  It’s been spilled on, the dogs have laid on it when they thought no one was watching, it’s been jumped on, climbed on, you name it, this furniture has seen it all.

The recliner is actually broken so that when you are reclined and want to get up, you have to move your feet to the outsides of the footrest and push down hard to get it to fold back up.  Sometimes you almost accidentally propel yourself into the air.

I almost always look at this very furniture and see all of it’s flaws, but maybe I’m getting more sentimental in my old age, because today I look at it and I am flooded with memories.

Some really sweet…

Some not so sweet…

But all of them ours.  Telling the story of our family.

I may have a hard time getting rid of this old furniture someday.

4 thoughts on “Our Old Beat-Up Furniture

  1. Gretchen January 20, 2011 at 2:37 pm Reply

    You are going to make me cry!

  2. Christy January 20, 2011 at 3:17 pm Reply

    I love it! And I needed to read that because I have been griping and griping about our old furniture!! You are such an awesome momma!!!

  3. Becky January 22, 2011 at 3:35 pm Reply

    I am bad about hanging on to things just because of the memories they hold. But you know I found out that even when the they are replaced the memories are not. Who knew??? LOL

  4. The Old Yeller Salt Box | Klutzy Mama January 28, 2011 at 10:44 pm Reply

    […] I kinda feel toward this house the way I do about our old furniture.  Lots of memories and good times here.  I need look no further than the archives of this blog […]

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

