Field Trip! And Another Prime Example of Why I Should Be Nominated For Mother of the Year

Today I went with Katie and her class to the Children’s Museum in Indy.  I LOVE the Children’s Museum.  I could spend an entire day there by myself – no kids – is that sad?

Today happened to be a free admission day, so it was completely packed.  I only had 3 little girls in my group and thank goodness because I don’t think I could have safely kept any more than that from getting lost.

I helped 2 lost kids find their parents.  One was terrified and sobbing.  Very scary.

But I had a great time and I didn’t lose anyone, so…BONUS!

I ran those kids through that whole museum and in the 2 1/2 hours that we had to explore, I don’t think we missed very much.  They were lagging behind me a lot and I was rallying them on because we had a lot of ground to cover in little time. “Come on, kids!  We’re not here to have fun or learn anything!  We just wanna get through all the exhibits before we have to leave!  Now March!”

Oh, I kid!  I kid!  I wasn’t that bad.  We did learn a lot and we did have fun.  I promise.

But as soon as we got back on the bus, my energy drained away completely.  I was so tired.  I didn’t sleep well last night and I normally get up at 5:30 and exercise before starting my day.  It gives me a little shot of energy to get going.  But as I said, I didn’t sleep well.  I came downstairs at midnight to watch some Andy reruns because I just couldn’t get tired and found a humongous pile of dog puke on the floor.  Lovely.  That was fun in the middle of the night.

The hours ticked by and I kept saying to myself, There is no way I’m getting up early to exercise in the morning.  NO WAY.

And of course, I didn’t.  So, not only did I not get any sleep, but I also didn’t get my feel-good shot for the day.  I am, however, gonna exercise at some point this evening.  I’m not going down like a complete chump today.

Now I sit here on the couch watching Bonanza (have I ever mentioned that I love Westerns?) with a frozen pizza in the oven for supper.  A grand display of my top notch mothering/nurturing skills.  Hey, I could’ve let them eat Cheez-its for supper.  At least there’s some kind of vegetable or something in that pizza somewhere, right?

I’ll be a good mom tomorrow.  I’m too tired tonight.  : )

4 thoughts on “Field Trip! And Another Prime Example of Why I Should Be Nominated For Mother of the Year

  1. mel January 18, 2011 at 1:26 pm Reply

    Km,
    We all have those days! I am having one today! My brain is fried and I have not even begun my day yet! How sad is that???
    hugs sweetie!
    GBB

  2. Jen January 18, 2011 at 1:36 pm Reply

    Sounds like a fun day at the museum, though. On a side note because you mentioned Bonanza…our daughter has a teacher who sends students’ corrected tests home for a parents’ signature. This aids those students who did not do well on the test makew their parents aware. Anyhoo….this teacher has had our daughter in her science class for 3 years now, never receiving a grade less than an A. My husband thought it would be fun to sign the test with an alias. He did, daughter took test back and turned in. The teacher in the middle of the class asked who signed her paper and then called me at home and asked who “Hoss Cartwright was?” We laughed…teacher still doesn’t understand.

    • klutzymama January 18, 2011 at 2:13 pm Reply

      Ha ha ha!! How can anyone not know who Hoss Cartwright is???? That is so hilarious!

  3. Becky January 18, 2011 at 2:19 pm Reply

    One of the things that has been getting me down lately is that I’m tired of the things I normally fix for supper. I try new things and they are just okay. So sick of fixing the same thing all the time and getting noses turned up at new stuff, they began eating more frozen pizza because that is what I fixed. They don’t complain much anymore when I do cook. LOL
    A couple of weeks after I came home from the hospital a few years back after a health scare…on a Sunday night I fixed chocolate chip cookies for supper. The guys were shocked. But hey you only live once right???!!!!
    And Jen’s comment about Hoss Cartwright cracked me up!!! I’ll have to try that sometime.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

