A New Year!

Happy 2011 everybody.  We barely made it to midnight.  Actually, I think we all fell asleep watching Andy Griffith and I somehow woke up with 3 minutes to go and started yelling at everyone to wake up.  Brian was on the couch and the girls and I were in the recliner.  We turned the TV just in time to see the ball drop and then the girls said, “Ewww…why is everyone kissing on TV?”
So I explained that you kiss your sweetheart at midnight to celebrate the coming of the new year.  Of course, being the romantic that I am, I just threw a fist bump in the air to my husband who was laying across the room on the couch.

We heard fireworks around town, so Katie and I stepped outside and tried to see some, but we couldn’t, so we just listened for a few minutes.

I don’t normally do resolutions.  I kinda feel like if you’ve got something that needs changing, you should just change it whenever you realize that you need to do so.  But earlier in the night, we were in the car heading out to eat supper with Brian’s dad and step-mom and I started asking if anyone had any resolutions for the new year.  The girls had no idea what they are and I’m pretty sure that Hannah still doesn’t get it, but here’s what we all came up with.

Me- (This is part 1.  After hearing Brian’s, I felt like a selfish pig and ended up adding some):  Stay on top of my exercise and get a better grasp on our finances (we’re struggling a little thanks to last year’s layoff).

Brian – “Somehow be healthier and drop a few pounds”, work on our financial situation, be a better father and husband, serve the Lord more this year, make getting to church every week a priority (see why I felt like a butt head about mine now?)

Katie – stop being a junk food junkie

Hannah – “get a bunch of money so we can buy a new house so I can have my own room.”  🙂

So, after my husband made me look like a heel, I decided that I wanted to add to mine to faithfully read my bible everyday (instead of randomly like I do now) and I also want to invite someone to come with me to bible study on Sunday nights.  This doesn’t start til March.  I think I’m gonna ask my dad and I’m hoping that having someone to go with me will keep me accountable and in the habit of going.

So, that was our New Year’s Eve festivities.  Pretty boring, eh?  Yeah, I know.  But I forgot to mention that the girls and I danced our butts off on the Wii, so that should count for something, right?  They got that Just Dance 2 game for Christmas and they’ve pretty much been dancing non-stop.  I like it because it makes me sweat and I’m getting exercise by doing something fun that doesn’t even really feel like exercise. Not to mention that I totally feel like Tina Turner when I’m gettin’ down to Rollin’ on the River.

So, what about you guys?  Any resolutions for you?  And how did you celebrate?

7 thoughts on “A New Year!

  1. Gretchen January 1, 2011 at 2:38 pm Reply

    Oh, it sounds very exciting considering I went to sleep at 10 in my bed and didn’t even think of watching the ball drop. I loved Brian’s goals. It was so sweet. Love you!

  2. Becky January 2, 2011 at 3:06 pm Reply

    We stay home every year. That way I don’t have to worry about all those road checks and drunk drivers that are driving toward me.
    We usually have friends over, but this year they all wanted to stay home, too. Guess we taught them too well. LOL
    So we had a quiet evening at home.
    The only resolution I have this year is to keep on with what I’ve already started. My workout routine includes Zumba and Billy Blanks-Boot Camps DVD’s. If you like dancing and want to sweat, try the Zumba fitness program (specifically the Zumba Live DVD). I love it!

    • klutzymama January 2, 2011 at 5:25 pm Reply

      Beck, I’ll have to check into that Zumba. I’ve been hearing lots of great things about it!

  3. Lillian January 3, 2011 at 5:29 pm Reply

    I loved everyones resolutions. I don’t really have one, I quit trying. Like you if I see something I need to change why wait until a new year.

  4. Averyl January 16, 2011 at 10:32 pm Reply

    My resolution is to finish writing my book. : )

    I love your new header image! Is that your turntable?

    • klutzymama January 17, 2011 at 2:44 am Reply

      Sadly no, it is not my turntable, but I sure do wish it was – it’s cool, isn’t it?

      • Averyl January 17, 2011 at 9:41 am

        Yes it is! I love old school cool (as you know!)

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

