The First Snow of the Season

Today we woke up to some big fat snow flakes falling.  The high was a whopping 32 degrees, I’m not positive that it ever made it there.

I stepped outside to get a picture of the first sprinkling of snow for the season.  How fitting that it should come on December first.

The Spinster and I, because we are stupid so dedicated, took the beasts for a walk in the frigid temps.  She kept telling me how much she hated me for making her walk and I told her to keep the hatred coming.  I was using the fire that was spewing forth in her angry statements to keep myself warm while walking.

When I got back home, I fired up the crock pot with some warm and comforting chicken and noodles for supper along with a batch of PW’s Au Gratin potatoes and some biscuits with homemade apple butter.  Mmmm.  Comfort.  Mmmm.  Food.

I so long for a wood-burning fireplace.  Days like today would have been perfect for snuggling up in front of a fire with a good book.  Instead, I had to snuggle up with my book in front of this guy:

The good ol’ space heater.  Well, I pretended that I was in front of a crackling fire, okay?  And not in front of this little fake-heat contraption.  I also pretended that I wasn’t aware that our old house in combination with our huge propane tank is going to cost us around $2000 this winter.  (Can you even believe that?!) I completely blocked out of my mind that even though we spend a million dollars on heat every winter, we still freeze our patooties off in here.

No, today I sat in front of a roaring fire.  I listened to the Little Women soundtrack playing softly in the background.  (seriously, this CD is so awesome, my girls even like it and there aren’t any words (!), I highly recommend it) and I caught up on what kind of trouble my friend, Mary Grey, was getting into today in The Ivy Tree.

Ahhhh…life is good.

3 thoughts on “The First Snow of the Season

  1. Christy December 1, 2010 at 11:17 pm Reply

    Sounds like a perfect day to me!!! 🙂

  2. mel December 2, 2010 at 1:03 pm Reply

    Sounds good to me as well.
    We also use space heaters. This house’s central (seems to me badly installed) went kaput 3 years ago and we have not bothered to fix it. With no insulation in the walls it just didn’t seem worth it! Running it was around $500 a month and the space heaters are 1/2 that!

    I miss snow though! We got some last year a few days before Christmas, I am hopeful it tries again this year and actually hits Christmas!

    hugs
    GBB

  3. Becky December 14, 2010 at 2:11 pm Reply

    Well, I’m with The Spinster….I would have been fussing about being cold, too. But, the thought of that crackling fire waiting on me at home would have put a little bounce in my step.
    Wow…$2,000! Ouch!!
    We had to buy a new heat pump last spring. I’m hoping my power bills won’t break the bank this year.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

