Pillowcase Apron

I finished a Christmas gift today that is okay to share.  It’s for my niece, Madie, and as far as I know, she doesn’t read my blog.  She loves to cook and I found this pattern for a pillowcase apron and thought it would be perfect for her.

But before we get to the pictures, I have an ugly confession to make.  I hate having to get ugly, but I cannot proceed in good conscience without first coming clean about this.

I…don’t…like…

to sew.

THERE!  I said it.  I feel better.

Remember how excited I was last year when I got my sewing machine?  Well, I’ve tried to love sewing and I just…don’t.  This pillowcase apron pattern is super DUPER easy.  It would take a normal person probably 30 minutes to complete.  Do you know how long it took me?  Do you?  3 HOURS!

I was not kind to myself during those 3 hours.  I called myself lots of names and had out-loud arguments back and forth with myself for the entire duration.  I felt completely drained and exhausted at the end.  And then just when I finally finished the stinkin’ thing and I sat down to relax and take a deep breath and reflect on why I can’t seem to do the most basic of tasks, I realized that it was time to get supper ready.  Oh it was a bad, bad day.

I’m not exactly sure why I have a learning disability when it comes to sewing, but I just don’t get it.  I want to get it.  I really do.  But I just don’t.

I’m not getting rid of my sewing machine by any means.  I’ll keep it around for any super simple projects that seem worthwhile.  Or for when I get ambitious.  Or for when I forget that I am stupid.

Okay, now on to the photos, I say!

I bought this strawberry print pillowcase at a garage sale over the summer for a quarter.  I thought it was adorable and that I could surely find something to use it for at some point in the future.  Then when I saw the pattern for the apron, I knew it was a perfect fit!

Katie is modeling it for me.  Madie is a good foot and a half taller than Katie, so it won’t be as long on her.  The ribbon is a butter yellow gingham, but it seems to come across like stripes in the pics for some reason.

I wanted to sew a cute pocket out of the gingham too, but after 3 failed attempts (do you understand my affliction now?), I was out of fabric and had to opt for 2 buttons on the top instead.

I thought it turned out cute and I’m hopeful that Madie will like it too.

6 thoughts on “Pillowcase Apron

  1. Christy November 30, 2010 at 10:30 pm Reply

    Very cute!!! What a great idea!

  2. MIL November 30, 2010 at 11:32 pm Reply

    very cute, good job. Now you know why I hate sewing..reminds me of high school home economics when I had to make a skirt and it came out too tight. got a C- gave up sewing shortly after.

  3. mel November 30, 2010 at 11:56 pm Reply

    LOL very cute.
    I enjoy sewing when I am left alone to do it.
    Trying to sew and hearing honey why are you making those funny grunty noises and turning purple… not so much!
    hugs
    GBB

  4. Jen December 1, 2010 at 1:42 pm Reply

    Super Cute! I can sew a straight line without getting frustrated and angry with myself, but not much more than that! I feel your pain. Also, glad you enjoy my reading list…I have followed your recommendations as well.

  5. Tana December 2, 2010 at 12:56 am Reply

    SHE WILL LOVE IT!!! You did a great job. It will mean so much to her that you made it. Poor lil thing, she got me…..the “if it dont come from a box, I aint making it” mother. She would learn a lot more from Aunt Mimi….I mean …..”Martha”. So if you ever need another helper in the kitchen just ask Madie!

  6. Becky December 14, 2010 at 2:03 pm Reply

    I think it’s adorable! You did a great job, too!!
    I like to sew small things. Not much on long tedious projects. I think it’s mostly because I don’t have a lot of time to spend on them. I do like to sew, when I have the time for it. I took on a denim quilt a few years ago that drove me nuts before I finally finished it. After a few washings it began to ravel out at the seams. Grrrrrr! Now it’s folded up in a closet somewhere waiting for me to repair it. Wonder if that’ll ever happen?

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

