A Few Thoughts On Motherhood

I was recently watching some old home movies and looking at pictures from when the girls were babies.  I did the usual “where does the time go?” thing and just sat there thinking of all the memories we have made thus far.  Hannah is 6 and Katie is almost 9.  How did that happen?

But as the words of my favorite Tracy Lawrence song go:  time marches on.

That it does.  Sometimes that makes me so sad.  I want to rewind the clock and go back to those babies with their chubby cheeks and be able to rock them to sleep again and hold them (I can’t even pick Katie up anymore and Nanner is getting heavier every day!).

It seems like it can be so easy to get tunnel vision with parenting.  Cooking, cleaning, homework, volunteering at school.  I sometimes get stressed and think that I’m failing because there is so much to do and there never seems to be enough time.  Fortunately, I have come to learn that when I start feeling that way, I just need to take a little breather and remember that this is what makes me happy.  This is what providing a sense of comfort, peace and “home” for my family is all about.  It doesn’t matter if the house is perfectly clean 24/7.  It’s not the end of the world if the fact that I worked at school for a few hours cutting out Christmas trees and ornaments made me get a little behind and we had to improvise for supper that night.  What matters is that my girls can come home every day to a loving home after school where I am waiting to hear about their day.  And seeing their faces light up when I show up at school to help out in their classes makes it totally worth the fact that I didn’t get to finish all the laundry that day.

In a perfect world, the chores would always be done, supper would always go according to plan and I would still have time to volunteer without ever getting behind on anything.  But in this real world, things can get a little off-kilter.  The key is to remember these things that seem to be a hindrance at times are the very things that we wanted when we decided that I should quit my job and stay home.  Looking at it in that light certainly takes the stress out of these ordinary days.

4 thoughts on “A Few Thoughts On Motherhood

  1. Susan November 28, 2010 at 3:40 pm Reply

    So true! Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving.

  2. Christy November 28, 2010 at 3:50 pm Reply

    Ammmmeeennnn Sista!!! What a great Momma you are!!

  3. Becky November 28, 2010 at 8:50 pm Reply

    I don’t remember what life was like before kids. And I can’t imagine life without them!

  4. Jen November 29, 2010 at 1:07 pm Reply

    Well said! Sometimes we just need a minute to remember why we do what we do as Moms and that it is so very important Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

