Punkin Heads! 2010

Last Friday night was our annual pumpkin carving party down at the ol’ spinster’s house.  There are a ton of pictures.  I had such a hard time not putting them ALL on here.  So, I tried to limit it to the best of the best, but there are still a bunch.

We had an awesome time as we always do.  There was a perfect nip in the air.  We surrounded ourselves with good food, hot cider, and spooky music.

First we started with the pumpkin carving.  You may remember my pumpkin disaster from last year. I played it safe this year and went with a traditional Jack-o-lantern face.

We were even visited by a ghost.

Just kidding.  That was my niece Madie in some funky lighting.

Here she is in human form.

Poor Maryka, she had a little mishap with her chair.  She put her knee through it when she tried to get up.  🙂

After we finished carving we had to display our fancy work out on the porch.

Then we chowed down on some yummy taco salad.  I brought a cd of readings of Edgar Allen Poe’s spooky poetry, but we had to laugh because we were all crunching so loudly on our taco salads that none of us could really hear anything.  : )

After that, we sat down to enjoy some games.

I believe I was scared out of my skin a total of 3 times.  First by my nephew, hiding behind the door and jumping out at me as I walked in.  Then by my sister’s boyfriend who came over and banged on the window right next to where we were playing games.  And then finally by the spinster when she crept up behind me with her dog.  He put his paw on my shoulder and made this grunting noise right into my ear that almost sent me through the roof!  I guess it’s a good thing that I like to be spooked.

This is unrelated, but my sister and I would like to offer the following picture as proof that we really don’t look that much alike.

The only downer of the night was that there is a burn ban right now because it is so dry and we couldn’t have our bonfire, but even in spite of that we had a great time.  That Spinster sho do know how to throw a punkin party.  Thanks Spinster!

BOO!

6 thoughts on “Punkin Heads! 2010

  1. Becky October 20, 2010 at 10:45 am Reply

    That looks like SO much fun!!
    They all look great!
    I may just have to copy this idea.

  2. Jen October 20, 2010 at 12:23 pm Reply

    You always seem to have so much fun together! What a great evening and the pumpkins look marvelous!

  3. mel October 20, 2010 at 12:56 pm Reply

    That almost makes me wish we did halloween… almost!
    You all look like you had a blast!
    hugs
    GBB

  4. Tana October 20, 2010 at 2:34 pm Reply

    We had a wonderful time!!!!
    Sis, I noticed you put your pumpkin LARGE at the end of the blog……you are’nt bragging are you?…..That is a lil childish…now, wouldnt you agree?

    BESIDES……Mine was the best, only took me, what?…..8 mins…10 mins at the most!

    ( I won, I won, Nah-Nah-Nah-Boo-Boo ) :-}
    HAA HAA HAA HAA!!!!!

  5. Lil October 20, 2010 at 3:22 pm Reply

    Love all the pics! You guys always have the best family time. But you and your sister do look alike when you have the same cut and Tana is not wearing glasses. I don’t care what you say. LOL!

    • klutzymama October 20, 2010 at 3:57 pm Reply

      Ha ha! Lil, I knew that somebody would say that. Oh well, we tried at least! 🙂

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

