Lunch Box Napkins

I’ve got a bunch of scrap fabric and I’ve been meaning to make some napkins for a long time.  I decided that I would use the scraps to make napkins for everyday use and then buy some cute fabric to use for when we’ve got company.

But today, I didn’t feel like making a ton of napkins, so I decided instead to make a few smaller napkins to throw in the girls’ lunch boxes every day.

I started with some of the cuter scraps that I have.

Then I followed this easy tutorial.  I wanted small napkins for the girls, so I cut out 7″ squares instead of the size she called for.

Brian saw me and asked what I was making.  When I told him he said “Awww, let me get a picture of you sewing!”  Except I wasn’t sewing at that particular moment, so he made me pretend like I was.  I think it’s an award winning performance, don’t you?  Aside from the fact that there is no actual fabric in the machine…

And here’s what I ended up with.

The perfect size for little hands and mouths.  🙂

Please try to avert your eyes away from the crookedness of my stitches.  I’ve got to be the world’s worst seamstress!  And I do realize that if I was a real seamstress I would have changed the thread colors so that you couldn’t see the stitches, but for little lunchbox napkins that seemed like too much work.  🙂

Now I just need to get the larger size napkins made for us big people and I can cease the buying of paper ones FOREVAH!!

And now a question for you.  I can NEVER cut straight lines when I’m cutting fabric.  NEH-HEH-HEVER!  So, can you tell me what the secret is?  Or is there some fancy gadget out there that I need to get?

6 thoughts on “Lunch Box Napkins

  1. Jen October 5, 2010 at 12:44 pm Reply

    Frankly, I think the crooked cutting adds character and makes me not feel alone. It also is another way your girls will think of you during the day. Nice job!

  2. Christy October 5, 2010 at 4:54 pm Reply

    Cute idea for their lunch boxes! You could get a quilt cutter (looks like a pizza cutter) and lay the material out on a craft mat with lines…whenever I’m cutting out squares or rectangles that’s what I use. I started making our napkins a couple of years ago and that’s all we use unless we’re having a bday party and then I buy paper ones….in the long run I’m sure it’s saved us a lot of money.

    • klutzymama October 5, 2010 at 5:03 pm Reply

      Thanks Christy! So, I need a quilt cutter and a craft mat with lines. Are the lines like imbedded into the mat to where you can feel them? Or how can you tell if you are cutting on the line?

  3. Becky October 6, 2010 at 1:44 am Reply

    I was gonna suggest the quilt cutter, too.
    Use a craft mat to lay it on so you don’t cut anything underneath.
    But I would get a ruler and lay it down where you want to cut.
    That and the cutter should ensure straight lines.
    Sounds like a great idea that I need to try cause I can’t cut straight either. LOL
    Love the napkin idea, too!!

  4. Tana October 6, 2010 at 12:57 pm Reply

    Very cute!! I like the white stitches! You are very crafty!! Way to go Sis!

  5. Averyl October 6, 2010 at 8:11 pm Reply

    I’m jealous that you can use a sewing machine! I bought one last year at Target and well, I gave up after trying to thread it and it started to smell like something was burning! I love your napkins, they are cute.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

