Finally A Post With A Purpose

The fam got together recently to celebrate my dad’s birthday.  Not really recently, it’s been almost a month now.  What can I say?  I’ve got Blog Burnout.  The ugly Double B!  And to my MIL, who I am sure is wondering why I STILL haven’t posted the photos of my step-son’s 21st birthday party, all I can say is that the ugly Double B  is so ferocious that sometimes it takes weeks to recover.  But soon…soon.  I pwomise with all my wittle heart.  Sometimes baby talk makes you seem more appealing and forgivable, right?  Yes?  No?

We had pizza and cake and ice cream and played some corn hole.  I was feeling a little festive when I was out getting some paper plates and napkins earlier in the day, so I grabbed some party hats.  I thought I was going to force people to put them on, turns out instead that everyone was fighting over them because I only bought 8.  Go figure.

My mother, who never makes funny faces at the camera.

My sister's boyfriend, Grant, and their dog, Chewie. Isn't he the cutest?! Oh and Grant's okay too. 🙂

This cracked me up!

I decided that I wanted to do something with all of this scrap yarn that I have. It’s all just leftovers that will probably never get used.

I finally settled on making a junk afghan to throw in the car.  I figure we can use it for soccer games or laying over the seats whenever the dogs are riding with us or even an impromptu picnic whenever the mood strikes.  But so far, everyone that I’ve showed my progress too says that it’s too pretty to use for a junk afghan, but I’m telling you the colors don’t match at all and it’s all different kinds of textures of yarn.  That just screams JUNK to me.

I was recently sitting on the couch, crocheting away on my junk afghan and listening to Owner of a Lonely Heart by Yes and the irony of the situation struck me.  I’m sitting her doing one of the most grandma-ish things in the world whilest jamming to Yes.  I had to laugh at myself.

Here it is, almost completed.  Soon it will be ready to throw in the trunk and wait for it’s time to be useful.

I have a lot of Christmas Gift projects planned and really need to get started on them.  I will only be able to share a couple of them before Christmas as most of the recipients are readers of this blog.

4 thoughts on “Finally A Post With A Purpose

  1. Lil October 4, 2010 at 3:27 pm Reply

    I agree way to pretty for trunk junk!!! Nice fall/winter mixture.

  2. Tana October 6, 2010 at 12:54 pm Reply

    Look how adorable our Daddy is!!! LOVE HIM!!!!

  3. mel October 9, 2010 at 5:09 pm Reply

    Ummm how do I get on your Christmas list????
    For a “bad” seamstress and having junk yarn you make cute stuff!
    hugs
    GBB

  4. Irrefutable Proof « Klutzy Mama February 21, 2011 at 11:04 am Reply

    […] then I started working on this rainbow-y afghan.  It’s going to take the place of this one, which was supposed to be thrown in to the trunk for whenever we needed it, but Buster kind of […]

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

