A Fun Day

We had such a fun day today.

We came home from church and I made stuffed peppers for lunch.  I’ll post the recipe at the end of this post.  They were awesome.  First time I’ve ever eaten a stuffed pepper.  Is that weird?

We drove over to Hartsville (a town even smaller than ours – pop. 350), where they had a classic car show along with bouncy houses, games for the kids and FREE food and drinks.

After that we came home and cooked out some chicken breasts on the grill and ate them with some baked mac & cheese and green beans.

Then we played Aggravation.  After I had thoroughly dominated and defeated my family at that, we went out to sit on the porch.

Brian and I were talking about games that we played when we were kids, like Mother May I and Red Rover.  The girls decided that they wanted to play Mother May I.  Mother May I played my way is always sure to bring on a few laughs.

I would say things like “Try to touch your tongue to your nose, do a hula dance and then take 3 giant steps forward”.  Or, the best one of the night, “Sit down and stick your big toe up your nose and take 3 bunny hops forward”.  That one had us all rolling on the ground laughing.  Especially when Katie did it and then Hannah did it too just for the fun of it.

Afterward, I was giving the girls a bath and we were playing ‘Would You Rather’.  I was asked, by Nanner, if I would rather eat a steak and get a splinter in my tongue or eat a plastic boat.  She also asked me if I’d rather get beat by the Wood Sox (that would be Red Sox) or eat paint.  Of course I’d rather eat paint than get beat by those dirty, rotten Wood Sox any day!  I was also asked if I would rather eat a slimy eyeball or a foot.  I will tell you right now that I didn’t even hesitate when I chose the eyeball.  I have a serious dislike of all things feet related.

I love days like today where we don’t have anywhere pressing to be and we can just relax and enjoy being together.

And now for that recipe!

Stuffed Peppers

6 lg. bell peppers
1 lb. ground beef
2 T. chopped onion
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 C. cooked rice
1 t. salt
15 oz. tomato sauce
3/4 C. shredded mozzarella

Heat oven to 350.
Remove tops of peppers.  Remove seeds and membranes.  Rinse.
Cook peppers in enough boiling water to cover about 5 min.  Drain.
Cook beef & onion in 10″ skillet over med. heat 8 – 10 min.  Stir in rice,salt, garlic & 1 C. tomato sauce.
Cook until hot.
Stuff peppers w/beef mixture.
Stand upright in baking dish.  Pour rest of sauce over peppers.
Cover & bake 45 min.  Uncover & bake 15 min. or til tender.*
Sprinkle w/cheese.

*I found that my peppers were already really tender after 45 minutes, so I didn’t cook them any further.

We enjoyed this meal so much.  Does anybody have any other variations on stuffed peppers?

7 thoughts on “A Fun Day

  1. Becky August 30, 2010 at 12:41 pm Reply

    You are ahead of me…I’ve never eaten a stuffed pepper either. Mom didn’t start making those until I moved out of the house. So unfair. LOL
    Your Mother May I sounds like a game I would come up with. My kids and I sang the song If You’re Happy and Know It and we would make up things to add, like lay an egg. And we put people in place of animals in Old MacDonald Had A Farm. And the sounds they made were something that described them or something that they said often. We laughed a lot in those days.
    Thanks for the recipe!

    • klutzymama August 30, 2010 at 3:48 pm Reply

      Ha!! Love the Old MacDonald game! We’re definitely going to do that one. 🙂

  2. Becky August 30, 2010 at 12:42 pm Reply

    BTW, what kind of rice did you use?

    • klutzymama August 30, 2010 at 3:47 pm Reply

      It was brown, Becky.

  3. Jen August 30, 2010 at 12:45 pm Reply

    Dinner sounds wonderful. I haven’t had a stuffed pepper in years…will have to make them again..they freeze well, too, FYI. What a great day you all had as well! Those are the days you will allremember forever. Happy Monday!

  4. Chris Tallent August 30, 2010 at 6:09 pm Reply

    I love reading about all the wacky things you guys do…makes me feel a bit less like a wierdo 😉 We have to be related somehow…it is kinda spooky how similar we are sometimes! The toe up the nose is something I would tell Adi to do! 🙂

    • klutzymama August 30, 2010 at 6:43 pm Reply

      Hee hee! It makes me feel better too, to know that there are others out there with my same affliction. 🙂 You know how this town is…I think we’re all related distantly in some way or another. Which could account for the weirdness, now that I think of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

