Velva Jean Learns To Drive: A Book Review

Okay, I have to admit that I totally picked this book for the picture on the cover.

And then, after reading the back cover, I wasn’t entirely convinced that I’d like this book.  It sounded too much like a romance novel.  Barf.

But something drew me in and I found that while there was a little romance (not the trashy kind, but just the regular old kind that normal people have, you know – no heaving bosoms or burning desires 🙂 ), the book was more about the life of this little mountain girl and her family.  The struggles and joys of their lives.  Without revealing too much, I just have to say that I found the Appalachian people’s lives to be fascinating.  I also found the story, being told in first person by the little girl and then young woman to be very endearing.

It was a quick and entertaining read.

6 thoughts on “Velva Jean Learns To Drive: A Book Review

  1. Jen August 18, 2010 at 4:55 pm Reply

    Just put it on my list…thanks. I have always been fascinated by the people of Appalachia as well.

  2. Christy August 18, 2010 at 5:33 pm Reply

    Thanks, I need some good books to read! I already have a Klutzymama recipe file…now I need to start a Klutzymama book list… 🙂

  3. mel August 18, 2010 at 10:53 pm Reply

    Hmmm sounds interesting. I will have to try it out. I am usually into pioneer stories, no trashy romance here either!
    Thanks for the recommendation!
    hugs
    mel
    the new green boogie bot

    • klutzymama August 18, 2010 at 10:58 pm Reply

      Hee hee!! Get on down with yo’ bad self, Mel!

      • mel August 18, 2010 at 11:12 pm

        If I do will you help me get back up again????

      • klutzymama August 18, 2010 at 11:22 pm

        You betcha! 😀

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

