Favorite Summer Recipes

One week of summer left before the girls start school.  I know summer doesn’t officially end until something like September 21, but for us, it ends on August 16.  I really wish that they didn’t have to go back until after Labor Day, like we did when I was in school.  It feels like they didn’t get much of a break.

I thought I’d share some of our favorite dishes that we’ve been enjoying this summer.  There are certain things that I only make during summer.  Like sweet tea and baked beans.  I don’t know why, but there are just some things that only sound good to me when the weather is a certain way.  Like chili in the fall and winter.

Anyway, here are a couple of recipes that we love in the summer time.

Baked Beans

53 oz. pork & beans, drained, reserve liquid
1/2 lb. bacon
2 C. bbq sauce
1 sm. onion, chopped
3/4 C. brown sugar
1 t. seasoning salt
1 green bell pepper, diced
1 t. dry mustard

Combine bbq sauce, onion, brown sugar, salt, green pepper & mustard.
Pour baked beans and 1/2 of reserved liquid into 9 x 13 dish.
Pour in bbq sauce mixture and mix well.
Place bacon on top.
Bake at 350 for 1 hr.

Cucumber Salad

3 cucumbers
1 t. salt
1/4 C. sugar
1/8 C. water
1/4 C. vinegar
1/2 t. celery seed or celery salt (I prefer the salt)
1/4 C. chopped red onion (I never add this)

Wash cucumbers and slice wafer thin.  You can peel them too if you want.  I usually don’t.
Sprinkle w/salt and let stand 30 min.
Squeeze cucumbers to release moisture.
In med. bowl, mix sugar, water, vinegar, celery salt & onion.
Add cukes and mix well.
Refrigerate at least 1 hr. before eating.

This next recipe I made for the first time this summer.  Everyone in our family loves mamaw’s potato salad.  I’m pretty sure that there have been fights over who is going to take the leftovers home with them.  It’s so good.  I was really nervous about making this.  There was a big cookout planned and almost the entire family was going to be there and I was called upon to make Mamaw’s potato salad.  I can’t tell you how nervous I was!  Especially because when she gave me the recipe, she said things like “Just throw in a couple of heaping spoonfuls of mustard…”.  I was like WHAT?!  You don’t have specific amounts?!

Anyway, I gave it my best shot and won approval from the family, so I’m not scared anymore.  I’ve tried to nail the amounts down as best I could, but every time I’ve made it, I’ve ended up “throwing in a few more spoonfuls” of this and that.  So, it’s best to just say that you can adjust the ingredients according to your preference.

Mamaw’s Potato Salad

Mix together the following:

6 good-sized potatoes, peeled & cut into small chunks, then cooked until soft, about 20 min.
6 eggs, hard-boiled & chopped
2 T. mustard (heaping)
2 T. relish (heaping)
1 C. mayo (heaping) adding a little bit at a time

Refrigerate for several hours.

I always end up adding more relish and mustard, but have never measured it out, so really, just go by taste.

15 thoughts on “Favorite Summer Recipes

  1. Jen August 10, 2010 at 12:04 am Reply

    Yum! The cucumber recipe sounds like one I make, but I add whole mustard seeds. I agree that school should NOT be starting next week.

    • klutzymama August 10, 2010 at 12:55 am Reply

      Yum! The mustard seeds sound good too. Is that the only difference in the two recipes? How much do you add?

  2. Jen August 10, 2010 at 6:17 am Reply

    About 1 TBL or so…they are a nice touch.

    • klutzymama August 10, 2010 at 8:36 am Reply

      Thanks! Is that in addition to the celery or in place of?

  3. Jen August 10, 2010 at 1:54 pm Reply

    Oops…sorry…in place of and if I add the onions (I don’t always) I slice them in paper thin rings.

    • klutzymama August 10, 2010 at 3:16 pm Reply

      Got it, thanks!

  4. Becky August 11, 2010 at 2:10 am Reply

    My mouth is watering. And I just ate! I know it’s late, but we got in late. **sigh**
    I’ll definitely be trying those. I’ve never made potato salad. My Mom always made it and she didn’t have a specific recipe either. And she passed before I got the ingredient list from her.

  5. Susan August 13, 2010 at 3:03 pm Reply

    Hi

    Just thinking about you and school starting. My oldest is also starting kindergarten..I can’t believe it! Enjoy these last days of summer! 🙂

    • klutzymama August 13, 2010 at 4:15 pm Reply

      Thanks Susan. I’m a little sad and excited at the same time. I will probably be a basket case on Monday and will have to be forcefully removed from the school. 🙂 How many kiddos do you have?

      • Susan August 14, 2010 at 1:33 am

        I have 2. My oldest is 5 and the youngest is 3, both boys. I think I may also be a basket case on Wednesday! 🙂

  6. klutzymama August 14, 2010 at 9:53 am Reply

    Awww…I feel for ya. I remember when Katie went to Kindergarten and I just teared up as soon as we walked into her class. I kept it together until I hit the front door and by the time I made it to the car, I was doing the ugly cry. 🙂
    Good luck on Wednesday!

  7. Jen August 16, 2010 at 4:38 pm Reply

    Hoping you are doing well today and that the first day of school hasn’t made you too sad.

    • klutzymama August 17, 2010 at 12:01 am Reply

      Thank you so much Jen! It was really rough this morning. Especially because Nanner started crying and didn’t want me to leave. I had to just walk out because it was getting worse the longer I stayed…broke my heart into a million pieces!! But then after school, she told me what a great day she had. 🙂

      • Susan August 17, 2010 at 12:25 am

        I am glad she had a great day! I am so sorry she was upset when you left.

      • klutzymama August 17, 2010 at 12:28 am

        Thanks Susan, it was rough…I went home and cleaned like a crazy person just to try and keep my mind off of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

