Sweet 16

My niece turned 16 yesterday.  I cannot believe that she is this old.  I can remember her chubby little 4-yr old face and I just can’t believe she’s growing up.

She had a pool party with some of her friends and family.  It was a lot of fun.  We engaged in a water war where it was pretty much everyone against my dad.  Super fun!

Here she is opening her gift from us.  A necklace with her birthstone.  I was worried that she wouldn’t like it and then would be too afraid to tell me for fear of hurting my feelings.

But she opened it and said that she loved it.  Then she cried.  So I feel pretty confident that she liked it.  (Oh and I hope you enjoy the nice big butt shot of me in my towel.  Thank you SO much, sister, for such a lovely angle.)  🙂

And today I am delivering her the 2nd part of her gift.  My Cheesy Potatoes.  She loves them and requests them all the time.

Cheesy Potatoes

8 potatoes, peeled & cubed
1 C. mayo
8 oz. Velveeta or other cheese, cubed or shredded
1 C. chopped green onions or chives
8 oz. chopped, cooked bacon
1 C. sour cream
salt & pepper

Preheat to 350.
Boil potatoes about 12 min.
Pour potatoes into 9 x 13 dish.
Mix mayo, sour cream, cheese, salt & pepper and onions.
Fold mayo mixture into potatoes until well coated.
Sprinkle bacon on top and bake 1 hr or until cheese is browned.

5 thoughts on “Sweet 16

  1. Tana August 7, 2010 at 2:59 am Reply

    Maryka loves the gifts you gave her. You are an awesome aunt!!!

  2. shannon August 9, 2010 at 4:15 pm Reply

    those potatoes sound AMAZING!!!!!

  3. Lil August 9, 2010 at 5:29 pm Reply

    That is so sweet!!

  4. Jen August 10, 2010 at 12:01 am Reply

    What a sweet Aunt you are and those taters sound yummy!

  5. Becky August 11, 2010 at 2:06 am Reply

    Glad she liked the gift!
    Atleast you had a towel around your behind. tee hee
    Those taters look delicious!
    If I ever visit I’ll be requesting those, too. LOL

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

