A Public Service Announcement About Hot Pepper Safety

Today my eyeballs were burned almost completely out of my head.

I cried.  Really I did.  Real tears and all.

I was chopping up a habanero pepper for Brian’s lunch.  You know habaneros, right?  One of the hottest peppers in the world?  The kind that they warn you to wear gloves with while cutting them?  And repeatedly warn you to wash hands thoroughly after handling?

And not 5 minutes after I said “Girls, see these peppers here that mommy just cut up?  Don’t touch them.  Don’t even come near them.”, my eye itched and I scratched it.  Even though I had washed my hands thoroughly (or so I thought), it immediately felt as if someone was pouring rubbing alcohol or perhaps lava into my eye.

I ran, screaming, into the bathroom, narrowly missing running straight into the wall.  I screamed “BRIAN I NEED YOU!!!!!!”

Because, you know, my running and screaming wasn’t really enough of a red flag to him that I might need assistance.  While I’m jumping and screaming in the bathroom, I can hear him telling the girls about how HOT these peppers are.

“HELLOOOOO!  NEED ASSISTANCE IN THE BATHROOM!  EYEBALLS MELTING DOWN MY FACE!”

So, we stood over the sink while he poured cold water into my eyes and all over my face.  When the burning finally subsided enough for me to stop screaming, I found that one of my contacts was folded up and wedged into the corner of my eye.  He had handled the peppers too, so I didn’t want him trying to get the contact out.  I ended up getting it out with a towel.

So, I now had one blind eye that was badly burned and full of lint and one eye that still had a contact in it.  My vision is really bad, so I can’t function with one contact in and one out.

So I washed my hands thoroughly precisely 27 times and then attempted to remove the other contact, thus starting another round of screaming and hopping and crying.

What I’m trying to say folks is this:  Don’t mess around with the habaneros.  Wear gloves, people!  And if you don’t wear gloves, you have to wash your hands to the point of being raw and red and almost bleeding.  And once you’ve done that, go ahead and wash them again about 13 more times for good measure.

6 thoughts on “A Public Service Announcement About Hot Pepper Safety

  1. Becky July 29, 2010 at 7:39 pm Reply

    That’s terrible!
    I’ve had pepper on my hands before and ended up the same. But not habaneros. I can’t imagine how painful that was. Was, right? It’s all better now, I HOPE!

  2. Susan July 29, 2010 at 10:59 pm Reply

    Oh..I am so sorry..I have done that before but with just jalapeno peppers after making salsa. I know that hurts..gloves are a good idea.. I have never used them but should. 🙂

  3. Jen July 29, 2010 at 11:36 pm Reply

    Oh no!!! I have done that, too! Be careful when you put your contacts back in if they were touched at all…I have had to throw one away before because I couldn’t get it back in my eyeball without pain! And, yes…I am in California. 🙂

  4. mel July 30, 2010 at 2:37 am Reply

    Oh sweetie! I hope your eyes are feeling better now. If I were you I would stock up on rubber gloves!
    hugs
    mel

  5. Lil August 9, 2010 at 5:28 pm Reply

    Those are some hot peppers. You know I say this with nothing but love, but I cried while reading this but only because you make me laugh so hard. Thats what friends are for right. : )

    • klutzymama August 9, 2010 at 5:56 pm Reply

      Hee hee! Lil, I love your little monster guy that comes up with your name. 🙂

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

