Too Many Cukes Makes Me Want To Puke!

Not really, but it rhymed.  “Too many cukes makes me want to make pickles” doesn’t quite have the same catchy ring to it, does it?  🙂

We’ve got more cucumbers than normal this year, so I’ve been busy trying to get them used up.  I’ve made pickles for the first time and I’m a little nervous.  The recipe I followed was a very easy one, but it didn’t call for processing them in a canner, has anyone ever made pickles this way?  I have to wait 3 weeks before I can try them to see if they are any good.  My fear is that it’s going to be like that Andy Griffith episode where Aunt Bee makes these awful tasting pickles, but they don’t want to hurt her feelings, so they tell her they love them and then she just keeps making more and more of them and giving them to everyone. Does anyone have a good dill pickle recipe that they could recommend?

And it looks like I’m getting ready to have enough ripe tomatoes to start canning.  I’m planning on spaghetti sauce, salsa and just plain tomato sauce for our chili this fall and winter if I get enough.  I love being able to send the girls out to the garden for cherry tomatoes when they come at me with their “I’m hungry Mama!” cries for the 700th time of the day.

We’ve had the most delicious sweet corn from our neighbor.  He plants a lot of corn every year and we just sit around salivating and waiting for him to make the rounds to everyone and deliver it.

My peppers are slow going this year for some reason.  Brian is dying for the habaneros to ripen so I can make him some special “hot”salsa.

I love being able to use things that we’ve grown ourselves to feed my family.  I will especially love it this winter when I can hit the pantry rather than the store for a lot of things!

13 thoughts on “Too Many Cukes Makes Me Want To Puke!

  1. prairiehomemaker July 25, 2010 at 2:05 pm Reply

    My peppers are slow this year too. My bells are tiny, the jalapeno still has not made peppers, lots of flowers but no peppers yet. We have picked a few chili peppers but not enough to count.
    All we have had in abundance is cherry/grape tomatoes.
    I want to freeze some pepper mix though!
    hugs
    mel
    who really does not frown like the avatar assigned to her comments!

    • klutzymama July 25, 2010 at 2:08 pm Reply

      ha ha ha!! mel I do not know why that avatar thingy is so mean to you! I tried to get back in the other day and just remove the avatar thing from it completely so they wouldn’t come up at all, but now I can’t remember where I went to put them there in the first place. any other wordpress users out there know how to do this????

  2. Jen July 25, 2010 at 2:11 pm Reply

    Our peppers are slow…hmmm…wonder what’s up with that? I am having such a good time sending the kids out to get a “handful of sage” or “5 maters”. Makes me feel that I am providing for my family…and I guess I am. No recipe for the pickles…never made them…sorry.

    • klutzymama July 25, 2010 at 2:21 pm Reply

      Jen…that’s very intriguing about the peppers because you, me & Mel all live in completely different areas, right? I mean, I know Mel is in Texas and I’m in Indiana and you are…wait, do I know where you are? Are you in Michigan? Why does Michigan come to mind??? I guess Michigan isn’t technically THAT far from me…I’m not sure if I know where you are or if I did and forgot but anyway, it seems like you’re somewhere far away from me at least! 🙂

  3. Gretchen July 25, 2010 at 4:56 pm Reply

    Well, I am sorry to be disagreeable with everyone else but my peppers are doing great. In fact my jalapenos ready before anything else so I have been freezing them. My green peppers are looking good and I just picked a bunch but now I am waiting on my tomatoes. I am only getting like 2 ripe at a time.
    This is my first year doing pickles and I have so many it is not even funny. I did can mine. I did one set and used the dill pickle canning mix and followed the instructions from that (water bath canning). I then did a more homemade version which was to pour the water/vinegar stuff over them and then I put in some minced garlic and a head of dill and water bathed those as well. One jar didn’t seal so it is sitting in my fridge (and it also said to wait 2 weeks). So I have made all of these jars of pickles and have no idea how they taste.
    I also thought of Aunt Bee when I was doing them.

  4. prairiehomemaker July 25, 2010 at 5:32 pm Reply

    LOL I even registered with Word Press hoping I could upload my own avatar and nada

    • klutzymama July 26, 2010 at 3:44 am Reply

      Hey! I think I fixed it! 🙂

  5. Christy July 26, 2010 at 4:56 am Reply

    If you like the cucumbers please post the recipe because I haven’t ever found one we like…I’ve tried several!! Last year I was determined that we would eat every last pickle that I had canned and so this year my family begged me to not plant cucumbers! Ha :/ I did plant them but we’re not making pickles this year! Or at least not until I get a tried and true excellent recipe!

    • klutzymama July 26, 2010 at 1:08 pm Reply

      So, what other things have you been doing with your cucumbers since you’re not making pickles? Any good recipes to share?

  6. Becky July 27, 2010 at 8:32 pm Reply

    Tipper over at the blind pig makes them this way. Or something similar. They are not processed. The vinegar is acidic, which reduces the chance of unwanted things in the pickles.
    I’m gonna check on that avatar thing and get back to ya. Can’t remember off the top of my head, but I’ll find it.

    • klutzymama July 27, 2010 at 8:35 pm Reply

      Awesome, thanks Becky!

  7. Becky July 27, 2010 at 8:39 pm Reply

    Log in to your blog. On the left side, down toward the bottom, under Settings, click on discussion. Avatar settings are at the bottom.
    And you are welcome. tee hee

    • klutzymama July 27, 2010 at 8:43 pm Reply

      You rock!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

