McCormick’s Creek

We went on a 2-day vacation recently with my parents to McCormick’s Creek.  It’s a beautiful state park about an hour and a half from here.

We hiked.

We also swam A LOT.  We rode horses and had a picnic in the woods.  It was so fun!

I even got to have myself a peaceful morning read while everyone was still snoozing.

Look at how cute the rooms were.

I especially loved this little nook with the desk.  I sat right there and wrote out a post card for a dear friend and had a lovely view of the woods.

Don’t you just love the look of the inn?

As I was reading the  brochure about the inn, I was thrilled to find that it used to be a sanitarium!  You know how much I love spooky things.  That gave it just the right touch of creepiness for me.  🙂

The land was originally settled by John McCormick in 1816, which is also the year that Indiana became a state.  The area was filled with canyons and ravines so rugged that not even the Native Americans in the area would settle there.  McCormick homesteaded nearly 100 acres along the canyon by the waterfalls.

In 1888 Dr. Frederick Denkewalter purchased part of the area and built the sanitarium.  Dr. Denkewalter died in 1914 and the land went up for sale.  The state of Indiana bought it and McCormick’s Creek became the first state park in the state on July 4, 1916.  Pretty cool, huh?

So…let’s take a look at that picture again only this time let’s think “Sanitarium!”  Bwaaa haa haaaaaa!


My dad and I, after finding out this juicy bit of info about the inn, kept trying to spook the girls.  We would yell, in the creepiest voices we could muster, “RED RUM!  RED RUM!”

Of course, neither of my girls has seen The Shining, so all that was accomplished with that was Hannah looking at us like we were nuts and Katie saying “You guys are weird.”

I also tried to scare them at various other times throughout our stay.  The only time I was successful was when Katie & I were on the elevator alone (and it was a kind of creepy elevator) and there was a funny noise and Katie asked me what it was.  I told her it was the ghost of an insane person that used to live in the sanitarium.  I let that sink in a few seconds then I yelled “BOO!” as loud as I could.  She nearly came out of her shoes.  I’m such a great mom.  If there was ever any question of that, I think this story clears it right up, don’t you? 🙂  My poor girls will probably be scarred for life by the time they hit their teens.  And then there will be all this documented proof on my blog that I was to blame for all of it.

Anyway, we loved the trip so much that we are going to hopefully make it an annual thing.  The place was so peaceful and family friendly.  I’m looking forward to next year.

8 thoughts on “McCormick’s Creek

  1. prairiehomemaker July 15, 2010 at 12:05 pm Reply

    You my dear are a FUN mom. Nothing wrong with that!
    I am glad you had an awesome trip.
    I love reading your adventures, I live vicariously through you!
    hugs
    mel

  2. klutzymama July 15, 2010 at 12:35 pm Reply

    By the way everyone, look at my dad’s crazy shirt in the above picture. I wish you could see just how “loud” that shirt is in person. And he loves that thing! Ha ha! Now I know where Nanner gets it.

  3. Lil July 15, 2010 at 4:08 pm Reply

    I am going to check that place out. Sounds fun and we are always looking for fun family adventures! Looks like a really pretty place.
    Thanks!

  4. Becky July 16, 2010 at 2:26 am Reply

    That does sound fun! Spookiness and all.
    Scarred? I don’t think so. They’ll be ready for anything when they grow up. LOL
    That IS a loud shirt. But hey, if he likes it, who am I to judge. tee hee

  5. Kristi Smith July 19, 2010 at 2:45 pm Reply

    lol, that is a loud shirt, my dad is always wearing Hawaiian prints.

    Looks like a cool place, glad you got away for a couple of days!

    BOO!

    🙂

  6. Christy July 19, 2010 at 3:27 pm Reply

    How fun!! Especially the spooky part!!…imagine if it wouldve started storming while you were staying there?! I’m creeped out just thinking about it! :/ It sounds like a fun weekend get away!!

  7. shannon July 19, 2010 at 9:12 pm Reply

    Glad you had a great time! Sounds so lovely!

  8. Jen July 21, 2010 at 12:09 am Reply

    That sounds like the perfect vacation! I would be the Mom terrorizing her kids as well! Glad to know I’m not the only one!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

