The Fun Jar + Strawberry Popsicles

When I read this post at Skip to my Lou the other day, I knew that I had to make one.  Sheer genius if you ask me!

Mine isn’t as fancy or cute as hers, but it does the trick.

Basically, any time the girls say “I’m bored, Mama”, I will direct them immediately to the fun jar.  They will pull out a slip of paper and do whatever it says.

We got to test it out today.  My niece and nephew were over and everyone was bored.  So they pulled out a slip and it said “Build a fort in the living room”.

So that’s just what they did.  That was at least an hour ago and they are still enjoying their fort!

Complete with guard dogs and all.  🙂

And lastly, I wanted to share a recipe that has been a big hit here at our house this summer.  Strawberry popsicles.  The recipe is so easy and these have zero sugar, so you don’t have to worry about how many of them they’re eating.  My kids love them.  They will easily eat 2 or 3 a piece each day.

I bought the popsicle trays out of the dollar bins at Target.

The recipe couldn’t be simpler.  Put 1 1/2 pints of strawberries (rinsed and hulled) into food processor with 1/3 C. of water.  Pulse until smooth.  Fill popsicle trays and freeze for 8 hours.

I do have to run a little warm water over them to get them to come out of the popsicle trays.

I have noticed that some kids that aren’t used to homemade goodies don’t love them as much as mine do, probably because of the no-sugar thing, so you could add about 1/2 C powdered sugar, if you like.  But mine gobble them up, without sugar, faster than I can make them.

8 thoughts on “The Fun Jar + Strawberry Popsicles

  1. Christy June 10, 2010 at 6:40 pm Reply

    Once again, I can’t wait to try your recipe out! Sounds yummy!!!! We did the fun jar a long time ago, but I’d completely forgotten about it…thanks for posting that…we need to do it again!

  2. Susan June 11, 2010 at 4:03 am Reply

    Fun! I love to make fruit popsicles! We like to mix blueberries and pineapple together and the pineapple is really sweet so it may be a good transition for those not used to the “natural” popsicles. It sounds like your summer is off to a great start. 🙂

    • klutzymama June 11, 2010 at 11:10 am Reply

      Hi Susan! My girls have been dying for me to make pineapple popsicles. I hadn’t even thought about mixing it with blueberries. That’s on my list of things to do today! Thanks! 🙂

  3. Becky June 11, 2010 at 11:58 am Reply

    The fun jar is a great idea! I’ll relay it to my daughter.
    What’s a fort without protection! LOL
    Those popsicles look delicious. I have copied the recipe down, now I need to go get some strawberries.

  4. Jen June 12, 2010 at 12:35 pm Reply

    What great ideas! I will make the fun jar this week! The popsicles will be perfect as well. I find it interesting to listen to comments when serving other kids homemade things without all the sugar and additives in it. They usually come around.

    • klutzymama June 12, 2010 at 1:12 pm Reply

      Hi Jen! My niece didn’t like them at first, but yesterday when she was here, she ate 2 of them! So I agree, I think it’s probably just a matter of getting your taste buds adjusted. 🙂

  5. shannon June 14, 2010 at 8:53 pm Reply

    those popsicles sound so refreshing and healthy!

  6. klutzymama June 16, 2010 at 12:26 pm Reply

    Hey all! Just wanted to let you know that last night we did the popsicles with pineapple. Can’t wait to try them out today!

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

