A Day In The Life

School is finally out and boy am I glad!  This was a tough school year.  Katie did excellent and kept straight A’s all year, but the little girl drama that we had to deal with nearly killed me.  Hannah starts kindergarten next year, so we will be relishing every single minute of this summer right up until the day that my baby leaves me for the entire day to join her sister in the big girl world of school.  (Sob!)

This school year was a weird one for me also.  There was the whole foot thing and then trying to get back into some sort of normalcy after that.  I finally have figured out what works for me in a daily routine.  My kids are 8 & 5, so I guess it took a few years to get here, but better late than never.

I look back at the winter months and what I see makes me cringe.  I had become one of those moms that are in the Pajama Nation.  You know, dropping my kids off at school in my jammies and slippers.  Seriously.  I did that.  A lot.  And I mean no offense to any other moms who may be reading and are part of the Pajama Nation, it’s just that I don’t want to be one of you.

And what, you may ask, was it that got me out of that slump?  Well surprisingly to me, it was a new routine that called for getting my butt out of bed at 5:30 am and working out every day.  Well every day except Sunday.  And yes, you read that right, I’m getting up that early on SATURDAY!!!

But before you roll your eyes and write me off as insane, let me just say that this was just the ticket for me.  It may not be for everyone, but I’ve been doing it long enough now to officially call it my “Morning Routine” and it’s working for me.

This is what my day looks like now:

* Alarm goes off at 5:15 and I hit snooze once then get up.

* Workout with weights or run/walk for 20 minutes (I alternate days.  The run/walk is 20 minutes of running for 1 min. and walking for 30 secs)

* Take a cold shower because I’m sweaty and burning up

* Get dressed, put on makeup, fix hair

* Eat breakfast and check blogs

* Wake the girls and let the games begin!

That’s it.  Now, you may be wondering what the benefits of this are, but more than likely you are not wondering at all and wish I would talk about something else.  However, the benefits are worth mentioning.

Benefit #1 – Obvious.  I am no longer part of the Pajama Nation.   That alone is enough to make it all worthwhile.

Benefit #2 – Energy.  My energy level is amazing right now.  Not only am I doing these workouts in the morning, which literally take only 20 minutes, but I’m also finding the energy to walk my dogs, ride bikes with my girls and take leisurely strolls in the evenings after supper.  Not to mention that I’m staying on top of the housework a lot better than I was back in my PJ days.

Benefit #3 – My body.  I no longer own scales, so I can’t tell you how much weight I’ve lost, but I can tell you that I have definitely lost weight.  My clothes are loose on me now and I haven’t had that happen for YEARS.  But even more than the weight is the fact that I’m starting to get my muscle tone back and that alone is awesome!

Benefit #4 – Mood.  I’ve been a lot happier since I started this new routine.  I’m not as moody and not as irritable.  I have more patience, which as you may know, when you have kids is priceless.

And now that school is out, I don’t plan on taking it easy and sleeping a little longer.  That’s exactly how I get myself out of the routine and back into being a member in good standing with the Pajama Nation.

8 thoughts on “A Day In The Life

  1. Gretchen June 3, 2010 at 1:05 pm Reply

    I love it. I am not at all offended. I think it is inspirational that you share what really works. Lets face it, we all need to do it and we need to stop making excuses! Great job!

  2. Susan June 3, 2010 at 1:21 pm Reply

    Good for you! I am also looking forward to a wonderful summer! I can’t wait to hear about all of your family adventures! Have fun! 🙂

  3. Christy June 4, 2010 at 1:35 pm Reply

    Good for you!! I’m not into Pajama Nation either buuuuuttt….I do sleep in a little longer during the summer…hmmm maybe I should try to change that?!?!

  4. Becky June 4, 2010 at 3:13 pm Reply

    First of all, let me say that I am not a member either. I know that just as sure as I go in my jommers that for some reason or another I would HAVE to get out of the truck for something. Not happening. I am dressed, even if it is my working out in the yard clothes.
    Secondly, I need you to report to my house with bugle in hand, just as soon as you finish your morning routine.
    You are definitely an inspiration. You just need to be closer to me. I need a little reinforcement. Or encouragement. Or a swift kick in the butt!

  5. Jen June 6, 2010 at 10:54 pm Reply

    Good for you! I also find that when I get up early and have som “me” time, I am a much nicer person!

  6. Jen June 6, 2010 at 10:54 pm Reply

    Araghghh…supposed to read “some” me time. 🙂

  7. Kristi Smith June 15, 2010 at 4:34 am Reply

    Wow, I thought you were looking pretty dang good in the above pics! Good for you. I have been having all kinds of stomach issues and I go to a GI doctor on Wed to see what kind of diet I should probably be on.

    Why do you get up so early though and what time do you go to bed? Just wondered with hubby working 2nd shift . . . is that 3-11???

    • klutzymama June 15, 2010 at 10:35 am Reply

      Hi Kristi!
      The reason I get up so early is because I can get my workout and my housework for the day done before the girls get up. Then I have the rest of the day to spend with them and do whatever I want to do also. The Spinster and I have been playing tennis and we like to ride bikes and do other stuff too, this way I just have more time on my hands for fun stuff.
      Also, I’m just naturally a morning person. If I wasn’t getting up at 5:30, I’d still probably be up between 6 & 6:30, but this way is better for me.
      Yes, Brian works 3 – 11. And he usually sleeps til around 9:30 or 10:00 every day, so since I’ve got all my crap done early, I can do stuff with him too, when he gets up.
      Let me know what the doctor says. I’m thinking of taking Katie to see someone because of some issues that she’s been having for a long time.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

