Come on Baby, (Don’t Fear The Garlic)

When you use garlic in a recipe, do you use the real deal?  The actual bulb?  Or do you use it from a jar?  Or do you just go for the powder or salt version?

I have to admit, I used to use it from a jar.  I was very intimidated by garlic bulbs.  They were scary…and…bulby.

A few years ago, I was trying a new recipe and the recipe said something like MUST USE FRESH GARLIC. And as much as I like to buck the system now and then, for some reason, I tried it.  I must have been feeling culinary that day.

But it was AWESOME!  The flavor was unbelievably wonderful.  I vowed then & there to never again be a garlic jar girl.  But the bad thing was that it was very tedious to peel and then chop the garlic.  And because I don’t own any knives that are actually sharp, as in the kind of knives that fancy cooks or even just people who are richer than me have, it was doubly bad.

Still I carried on, year after year, peeeeeeling…chooooopping…peeeeeling…chooooPping…zzzzzzzz.

UNTIL…until I read online somewhere that you could just take that clove and whack it on the head with a kitchen mallot and the skin peels right off.  Eureka!

"Do you feel lucky, punk? Well...do ya?"

AND THEN!  I got even smarter when I realized that I could really make it easy on myself by sticking those peeled cloves into my little mini chopper.

And life has been sweeter ever since.  Now if you don’t have a mini chopper, you can still chop your garlic with a knife.  If you have a nice knife, it will be easy.  If you have knives like I do, it will not  And if I only need one or two cloves, I sometimes still just use my knife unless I need the chopper for something else anyway.  Mini-choppers are inexpensive and great for all kinds of things.  Bread crumbs, veggies, garlic, onions, etc.  When I have large quantities to chop, I usually use my food processor, but more often than not I’ll throw an onion for my lunch into the little chopper and it’s ready in seconds.

So, if you’ve been too afraid to try fresh garlic, worry not, friends.  It’s easy!  And if you’ve never been afraid of garlic and think I’m weird, well then I’m sure you are not alone.  🙂

2 thoughts on “Come on Baby, (Don’t Fear The Garlic)

  1. Becky June 4, 2010 at 3:07 pm Reply

    I’ve never been afraid of the garlic, mostly because I had no idea you could get it from a jar. And for years I hated peeling and chopping garlic. And when I found the jar I was hooked.
    But because of this post I may have to rethink my choice.

  2. Kristi Smith June 15, 2010 at 4:36 am Reply

    I used to use fresh but like the convenience of the jar.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

