Second Best Lunch Evah + Recipes + A Yummy Weekend!

This lunch is giving my chicken pita pizzas a run for their money.  I’m not quite ready to kick the pizzas to the curb yet in favor of this pasta, but I’m getting closer.

Yesterday, Katie & I made some delicious Red Pesto Sauce.  I usually just make the basil pesto, but I had some sun-dried tomatoes, so I decided to get all crazy up in here and make something different.

I couldn’t wait to try out my new pesto, so for lunch I cooked some cut-up chicken breasts and bell pepper in some olive oil.

Added whole wheat penne pasta and some of this delicious pesto, with parmesan on top.  And then, just for sport, I got some onion chives from my herb garden and threw them on too. Yum!

Now this looks suspiciously similar to Puke On A Plate, but I assure you it is not.  🙂

Here is the recipe for the pesto:

Red Pesto Sauce

1 packed C. sun-dried tomatoes (I am using jarred until my tomatoes come in)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 – 1/2 t. red pepper flakes (or more!)
2/3 C. EVOO
1 T. fresh thyme, minced (I used dried, about 1 t.)
2 T. fresh rosemary, minced (ditto)

Combine all in food processor.  Pulse until coarse.
Store in fridge up to 1 month.  Make sure there is a thin layer of olive oil on top.

*I used my stick blender because the food processor is a pain to break out for such a small amount of pesto.

And here is the recipe for basil pesto, which I got from Cooking During Stolen Moments:

Basil Pesto

3 C. fresh basil leaves
1/4 C. pine nuts, optional (I usually don’t add these)
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 C. olive oil
1 t. each salt & pepper + more to taste
1/4 C. grated parmesan

In blender or processor, blend/pulse the basil, nuts and garlic.
Drizzle in olive oil while continuing to process.
Add remaining oil to achieve desired consistency.
Add salt, pepper & parmesan.

*Can freeze leftovers.

On Saturday we went to a luau to celebrate my best friend’s sister’s 50th birthday.  I will have pictures and stories up later this week.  We had all your basic, delicious cookout food:  burgers, dogs, brats, chicken breasts, baked beans, mac & cheese, cheese dip, and spinach dip.

We camped out in a tent at the luau, so on Sunday morning we picked up a quick breakfast at McDonald’s drive-thru.  Okay, I’m not a fast-food snob, I know it’s bad for you and we rarely eat it, but we DO eat it on occasion.  It had been so long since I’d had any breakfast food from McDonald’s, that I couldn’t believe that I ever use to enjoy it.  It was disgusting and that’s putting it kindly.  We don’t eat out very often.  However, when we do go fast food, it’s usually Taco Bell.  I can eat the heck out of Taco Bell.  The girls love McDonald’s of course, like a lot of kids, but over the years, I’ve found it hard to find anything there that I really like anymore.  Except for their double cheeseburgers.  I do like them.  But the fries seem so greasy and salty.  Their chicken makes me gag.  I’m just really glad that we don’t eat it that often because the more I get into eating real food, the more I have a hard time forcing that stuff down my throat.

But on Sunday afternoon, after a hard few hours of yard work and watching the girls run through the sprinkler, we decided to go for a late lunch on the grill instead of having a big supper like usual.  Katie had softball practice in the early evening, so we decided to do it up right for lunch and then just snack in the evening if we were hungry again.  I made an ice cream cake before we took off for the ball field, so it would be nice and frozen and waiting on us by the time we got home! 🙂

We threw some sirloin steaks on the grill that I had marinated overnight and they were the bomb!  I love this marinade, it’s great for steaks.  I also made some steamed teriyaki broccoli (which was gross) and baked potatoes.  I love steamed broccoli and I saw this recipe on Martha Stewart’s website for Teriyaki Vinaigrette broccoli and thought it sounded good, but it made me want to barf.  It made my loved ones want to barf too, so we won’t be having that again.  But, if you love a good, tender, juicy steak with great flavor, you should definitely give this marinade a try.

Steak Marinade

1/2 C. soy sauce
1/4 C. water
2 T. molasses
2 t. ground mustard
1 t. ground ginger
1/2 t. garlic powder

Mix well in a bowl, then throw it in ziplock bag along with your steaks and marinate up to 24 hours.


6 thoughts on “Second Best Lunch Evah + Recipes + A Yummy Weekend!

  1. shannon May 25, 2010 at 2:43 pm Reply

    sounds delicious!!!!

  2. Becky May 26, 2010 at 12:01 pm Reply

    We have been eating out WAY too much. I am trying to get back to cooking more and eating at home. But when I stay so busy it’s sometimes just easier.
    That pesto looks delicious!

  3. Christy May 28, 2010 at 3:06 pm Reply

    Yummy!!!!!! Can’t wait to try the red pesto sauce! 🙂 and I’ve always bought our steak marinade so I can’t wait to try yours!!!

    I am the same way with fast food. Every now and then I will start craving a cheese burger, but then when I get one its just not as good as I remember! Whole foods are so much more filling and make you feel so much better!!

  4. Christy June 9, 2010 at 1:34 pm Reply

    I’m making your basil pesto today to use up some of our basil!! Can’t wait!!

    • klutzymama June 9, 2010 at 1:59 pm Reply

      Let me know how you like it!

  5. […] 1/2 to 1 T. of pesto, depending on how much chicken & pasta you’re making.  *I have 2 really great recipes for pesto.  However, my herbs didn’t do well last year because I stupidly moved them to a different […]

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

