It’s Raining Beans!

Hallelujah, it’s raining beans!

I just had a bean explosion in my kitchen.  A literal explosion in which I dropped to the floor because I thought someone was shooting at me.  Because you know, I live on the mean streets of Hope, Indiana where there’s cause for screaming like a pansy and dropping to the floor when you hear a loud noise.

In the words of my buddy Monk, “Here’s what happened“:

So I’m making a double batch of refried beans.  And I employ my trusty pressure canner.  Now I’ve not been canning long, so I still consult my user’s manual every time I use this bad girl because I’m a little frightened of her still.

So, I read step by step and assemble the pieces and everything is great.  So I crank up the heat and wait for my beans to cook.

Now, I consider myself to be a half-way intelligent person, but what I did today was just plain stupid.  It really was.  You see, when I put the pressure gauge and the over-pressure plug on the lid, I switched their places.  So, I had them in the completely wrong place.  And the over-pressure plug flew out of it with a sound that was, I kid you not, like a gun shot. I was standing a few feet away from the stove, thank goodness because I could have been seriously injured and burned.  Anyway, I hit the floor, just like I told you, screamed and then began to feel the rainstorm in my kitchen.  Bean water shot straight up from the canner and hit the ceiling and then began to rain down all over the kitchen.  It was a mess that took 3 hours to rectify.  I’m not kidding.

Remember the old Stephen King book and movie, Maximum Overdrive, where all of the cars, machines and appliances in the world become murderous and start killing everyone?

Hey, I’m just sayin’…it could happen!

10 thoughts on “It’s Raining Beans!

  1. Gretchen April 29, 2010 at 8:21 pm Reply

    Is this in addition to the incident that you told me about or is it the same one?

    • klutzymama April 29, 2010 at 8:50 pm Reply

      In addition to. 🙂 The first time I had the gasket in the wrong place and it was nothing compared to the great Bean Juice Storm of 2010!

  2. Susan April 29, 2010 at 9:33 pm Reply

    Oh my..and three hours to clean up. Hopefully your kitchen needed to be cleaned anyway. That would be a silver lining in the Bean Storm Cloud of 2010. 🙂

    • klutzymama April 29, 2010 at 9:46 pm Reply

      Unfortunately Susan, I had just done a deep clean of the kitchen just last week. 😦 Ah well…such is my life!

  3. Jen April 30, 2010 at 1:09 pm Reply

    I am so glad you weren’t hurt! Your story DOES solidify my fear of pressure cookers.Did you have time to take pics of the carnage?

    • klutzymama April 30, 2010 at 5:56 pm Reply

      Well I hope I’m not scaring people off, because they really are wonderful tools, but just don’t be stupid like me and put the pieces in the wrong place! Ha ha! 🙂

  4. Lil April 30, 2010 at 3:12 pm Reply

    Well, I just have to laugh. I am sure that would scare me to death and I would of reacted the same. But…it didnt so thanks for the giggles Lillian. What are friends for if you cant laugh at them? LOL

    • klutzymama April 30, 2010 at 5:55 pm Reply

      Lil, you know as well as I that you have unlimited license to laugh at me for the rest of my life after I laughed at your near-death stairs experience! 🙂

  5. Becky May 9, 2010 at 3:02 am Reply

    Oh no! That’s terrible!
    You are braver than I. I have never used a pressure canner. Been wanting to get one. Now I’m not so sure I still want one.

  6. Simplify Thyself « Klutzy Mama April 11, 2011 at 5:28 pm Reply

    […] forward to every year.  I like to can things from the garden, which gives me such satisfaction (except for when beans explode in my kitchen, which by the way, there is still a stain on my ceiling …, knowing that I am able to feed my family from things that I’ve grown myself.  I also cook a […]

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

