The Story of Johnny and Louise

Some of you may remember me talking about my grandmother Louise, my dad’s mother.  She died when my dad was 15, so I never knew her.  This causes me great sadness because those who knew her always say what a wonderful person she was.  I love to listen to my dad tell stories about her.  Is it possible to miss someone you’ve never met?  I think it is.  I so wish I could have known her…even if just for a little while.

I decided that I really wanted to take all of these stories and things that my dad has told me over the years and put them down in writing because right now there really isn’t anything that the family has to preserve her memory.  And also because I want my girls to someday be able to know the kind of woman that their great-grandmother was.

My grandpa Johnny was an alcoholic.  Plain and simple.  One thing I will not do with this story is romanticize the way my dad and his brothers and sisters grew up.  But I have a few fond memories of him and again lots of stories from my dad.  I wouldn’t say that I was ever close to him and towards the end of his life, he really didn’t know who I was, he always called me Brenda, (who is my awesome aunt that people ALWAYS tell me I look just like) but we did go visit him every once in a while and I remember bits and pieces of that.  One thing that the stories of him have given me is lots of laughs.  Not because he was particularly funny, but because he was a character and I find a lot of the things that he did amusing, even though he never intended them to be.

So, with my dad’s help and probably the help of some other family members as well, I plan to start telling the story of my grandparents.

I don’t know how often I will post installments, I have a lot of research to do and people to talk to, so it may be sporadic, but I will try to do it with some regularity.  So stay tuned!

6 thoughts on “The Story of Johnny and Louise

  1. Gretchen April 27, 2010 at 2:52 am Reply

    I love it. I am so excited to start reading it.

  2. Mel April 27, 2010 at 11:53 am Reply

    I had a grandpa similar to yours. Unfortunately though there isn o one left alive who remember my grandmother.
    I look forward to sharing your stories.
    hugs
    mel
    PS why do I always get that grumpy face avatar… I am generally not a grump…
    🙂

    • klutzymama April 27, 2010 at 12:53 pm Reply

      Ha ha! I don’t know Mel. You are definitely not a grump, that’s for sure! You have to be one of the “ungrumpiest” people I know! 🙂

  3. Becky April 27, 2010 at 1:03 pm Reply

    One of my grandfather’s was the same. I wonder if it was the era?
    Anyway, I need to get back to posting memories, too.
    I can’t wait to hear about Johnny and Louise!

  4. shannon April 27, 2010 at 2:09 pm Reply

    this sounds like so much fun, i’d love to do something like that for my family one day. i can’t wait to read what you put together!

  5. Jen April 27, 2010 at 8:52 pm Reply

    Looking forward to reading the story.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

