Book Review: Riven

I just read a great book.  It was one that my sweet mamaw recommended to me and she never disappoints.

Without revealing too much, Riven is a fictional novel written by Jerry B. Jenkins.  It is about the lives of a death row inmate and a prison chaplain.  You get a background story on both and how they came to be at the supermax prison, then you get to see how their lives intertwine with each other and the results of that intertwining.

I will say, that one thing that this book did for me, was to make me actually sit and think about and realize the physical pain that Jesus went through on the cross.  I don’t think I’ll be revealing too much by talking about this part, but towards the end of the book, there is mention of this romanticized version of Jesus on the cross, that we get at an early age in Sunday school.  I know that is definitely true for me and even as an adult, though I know he was brutally beaten and abused before being crucified, I don’t think I’ve ever truly sat and thought about what it was really like.

While this book is quite lengthy, I did find it to be a fast read, even though a few of the reviews I read seemed to say it was very slow, I could barely put it down.  It was very hard for me to wait until the girls were in bed every night to pick it up again.

I loved this book and highly recommend it.  After all, sweet mamaw has never let me down!  🙂

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Riven

  1. Jen April 25, 2010 at 4:13 pm Reply

    Perfect! I have been online this morning searching for books that I wanted to read that were availablie in my library to no avail. I will be flying cross country next week and needed some good books to take along…Lo and Behold, your recommendation IS available and I will be checking it out this week. Thanks!

    • klutzymama April 25, 2010 at 7:00 pm Reply

      Awesom, Jen! I hope you enjoy it. Have a great trip!

  2. Lil June 23, 2010 at 7:44 pm Reply

    Hey Lillian
    So I started Riven this week and I am loving it. I look forward to any minute I can steal away to read a few pages. Thanks for the recomendation!

    • klutzymama June 23, 2010 at 7:59 pm Reply

      Let me know what you think when you finish it, Lil. I loved it!

  3. Lil July 14, 2010 at 3:14 pm Reply

    I finished Riven last week. What a good book! I went on vacation a couple weeks ago and I hated to leave it behind but I did and I was right at the half way point. I finished the rest in a week. It really stays with you. The last few chapters were extra emotional. I found myself sobbing. It really makes you think about Jesus and your own life. Very good book, that I will soon be passing on to another friend to enjoy. Thanks so much!

    • klutzymama July 14, 2010 at 3:15 pm Reply

      So glad you liked it Lil! It’s one of my favorites for sure.

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

