The Night Willie Nelson Almost Died

Wow.  I seriously almost committed dogicide just a few short moments ago.  I’m still not certain that he will live through the night.

You see, I have cleaned like a madwoman today…even mopping the bathroom floors on my hands and knees.  I deep-cleaned the kitchen and both bathrooms, then I also cleaned my bedroom and did a quick clean of the girls room.  Add to that 3 loads of laundry and a pounding headache that is quickly leaning towards a migraine,  and you get a deadly combination for a mischievous dog.

I tutor a girl from Katie’s class on Monday, Wednesday & Thursdays from 4:00 – 4:30.  I don’t know that I’d really call it tutoring, but she struggles with reading, so I read with her and help her work out the problems that she has.  Anyway, Katie had a girl scout meeting tonight, and it’s crazy hair night, so I knew that as soon as I was done reading with Nichole, I needed to get started on supper right away in order to be able to fix her hair and get her to the meeting on time.

Well, right about the time that Nichole got here, my sweet Mamaw showed up for a visit and you all know how much I love my sweet mamaw, so I put Nichole off for a few minutes and visited with Mamaw.  We call each other Flower Buds, because we love flowers so much, so we strolled around the yard, looking at what all I have coming up and chatting about flowers in general.  She leaves at about 4:30, so I’m already running 30 minutes behind.  Luckily, we were having sloppy joes for supper and I had already chopped up the pepper and onion earlier in the day, so all I had to do at this point was fry the hamburger, make up the sauce for it and steam some broccoli to go alongside it.  Still we were going to be pushing it.

Once supper was over, I decided I had a few minutes to clean up some of the mess before getting Katie’s “crazy hair” in order.  The trash was full, so I emptied it and set it to the side, planning to take the full bag down to the trash cans on our way out the door.

HOWEVER, I forgot to grab the bag on the way out and came home to find that darling Willie had ripped into the bag and strewn trash all over my kitchen floor that I had just mopped this morning.  I realized my mistake when I was about halfway home and I just kept saying to myself  I know he’s in the trash and I’m literally going to kill him when I get home. At one point though, I thought, Now wouldn’t I just feel so bad if I came home and he hasn’t even touched it?  How terrible of me to say that I would kill my dog when I don’t even know for a fact that he’s been bad. Ha.  Whateva.

So, as I said, trash is everywhere.  Buster is sitting right by the front door as if to say “It wasn’t me, Ma.  I been sittin’ here this whole time.”

And Willie, of course, is standing in the kitchen, head down, tail tucked, right next to all of the incriminating evidence.

So I start yelling and screaming at him and he’s running in circles around the dining room table from me because he knows I can’t catch him when he does that.  When I finally do catch up to him, he looks at me and then just pees right there on the carpet.  Yes, that’s right folks, I literally scared the pee out of my dog.  So, on top of the trash mess, I also had a lovely pee mess to deal with.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I hear the Tylenol PM’s calling my name as we speak.

Trash Monger

6 thoughts on “The Night Willie Nelson Almost Died

  1. Jen April 20, 2010 at 1:10 pm Reply

    I hope today is a better day for you! Why is it that things like that always happen at the most inoppportune times?

  2. Lil April 20, 2010 at 1:34 pm Reply

    I have sooooo been there. Dogs can drive you crazy but they love you so much.

    • klutzymama April 20, 2010 at 1:58 pm Reply

      Oh yeah, he was all happy go lucky 5 seconds after the major ordeal! Dogs are so funny!

  3. Becky April 27, 2010 at 12:56 pm Reply

    Poor Willy! He didn’t mean to do it. The temptation was too much for him. If only the temptation hadn’t been left there for him. It’s all your fault! You can’t tempt a dog and expect him to overcome. tee hee
    That would be the explanation at my house. IT’S ALWAYS MY FAULT!!!
    Been there!!!!
    What’s really bad is when you have a dog that’s almost as tall as you when they stand on their back legs. They can take anything off the counter or STOVE! Yes, I had a pot of hillbilly beans cooking, the smell was starving me. But I walked into another room, heard a crash and cried while I cleaned up a whole pot of beans from my kitchen floor.
    And like you, I coulda kilt that dog!!

  4. shannon April 27, 2010 at 6:33 pm Reply

    sounds like a rough evening!!!! and where’s a picture of the crazy hair… i’d love to see what that looks like!

    • klutzymama April 27, 2010 at 7:16 pm Reply

      Unfortunately Shannon, my camera is on it’s last leg. I wasn’t able to get it to function properly, but just picture about 5 pony tails all over her head. 🙂

Leave a Reply

BEAST MODE MOM

Fitness ~ Food ~ Mom Life

Chocolate Salad

Nutritious, Delicious, Simple

Klutzy Mama

~ Life ~ Family ~ Fitness ~ Fun ~

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Twisted Fencepost

Life on the outskirts of town.

